Double Dynamite 0887


fye.000000400081034756 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400081034756


    Double Dynamite 0887 Pair

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Between April 1969 and January 1973, RCA Records' discount label, Camden, released ten Elvis Presley albums culled from Presley's back catalog. In August 1975, the discount label Pickwick acquired these albums and reissued them. Then, Pickwick created its own 18-track, two-LP compilation by lifting two tracks from each of the Camden albums except Elvis' Christmas Album and dubbing the result Double Dynamite. This is, then, a random compilation of a group of random compilations! Given that, it features an unusually large number of chart singles, dating from 1956 to 1972: "Burning Love" hit the Top Ten; "Flaming Star," "Follow That Dream," "Separate Ways," "(There'll Be) Peace in the Valley (For Me)," "Frankie and Johnny," "U.S. Male," and "Big Boss Man" were Top 40 hits; and "Old Shep" and "You'll Never Walk Alone" charted. ("Rubberneckin'" was the chart-listed B-side of the Top Ten single "Don't Cry Daddy.") Still, Double Dynamite was typical of RCA's careless stewardship of Elvis Presley's catalog toward the end of his life. (Originally released as an 18-track double LP by Pickwick as Pickwick 5001 in December 1975, Double Dynamite was reissued, with the songs "If You Think I Don't Need You" and "You'll Never Walk Alone" deleted, by Pair as Pair 1010 in 1982.) ~ William Ruhlmann

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. It's a Matter of Time
  2. 2. Frankie and Johnny
  3. 3. You'll Never Walk Alone
  4. 4. Flaming Star
  5. 5. Peace in the Valley
  6. 6. Yellow Rose of Texas
  7. 7. Follow That Dream
  8. 8. Rubberneckin
  9. 9. Burning Love
  10. 10. U. S. Male
  11. 11. Big Boss Man
  12. 12. Seperate Ways
  13. 13. Easy Come, Easy Go
  14. 14. Mama
  15. 15. If You Think I Don't Need You
  16. 16. Old Shep
  17. 17. Fools Fall in Love
  18. 18. I'll Be There

Customer Reviews