Os Sonhos Mais Lindos0801


rovi.MR0001135921 8/21/01 Used

Product Promotions

20% off sitewide with $25 purchase (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001135921


    Os Sonhos Mais Lindos0801 Universal Music Latino

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Released in Brazil in conjunction with a television ad campaign, this anthology taken from the ill-fated Brazilian superstar's PolyGram (now Universal) catalog comes with no documentation whatsoever, other than titles, approximate years of the recordings, and untranslated Portuguese lyrics. A pity for North American listeners, for the disc covers a lot of material that never received much exposure here, with Regina's clear high voice occasionally giving way to a earthy lower range. There is a bossa nova treatment of vintage Jobim ("So Tinha de Ser Com Voce"), rapid-fire Gilberto Gil ("Amor Ate O Fim"), hoary standards like "Fascinacao" (Fascination), and "Aquarela do Brasil," a wonderfully intimate treatment of Milton Nascimento's early "Morro Velho" backed just by a guitar and a cello. Regina does a lounge-like rendition of "These Are the Songs" in English, with the wildly vibrating voice of composer Tim Maia offering a bizarre response. Also, Jobim's "How Insensitive" is crooned in English, with a string-laden pop arrangement. ~ Richard S. Ginell

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Fascinaçao (Fascination) - 3:02
  2. 2. Amor Atè O Fim - 4:47
  3. 3. Atrás da Porta - 3:50
  4. 4. Só Tinha de Ser Com Você - 4:46
  5. 5. These Are the Songs - 3:06
  6. 6. Vecchio Novo - 3:25
  7. 7. Folhas Secas - 4:36
  8. 8. 20 Anos Blue - 3:10
  9. 9. Morro Velho - 5:47
  10. 10. Andança - 3:15
  11. 11. How Insensitive (Insensatez) - 2:21
  12. 12. Carinhoso - 4:58
  13. 13. Canto de Ossanha - 3:28
  14. 14. Aquarela Do Brasil/Nega Do Cabela Duro - 3:04

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews