21 St Century Toy


aec.disk113.2 7/1/03 New

Product Promotions

20% off sitewide with $25 purchase (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.disk113.2


    21 St Century Toy Disko B

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take up to 8 weeks to ship.


Review Text Drum'n'bass überproducer John B. embraced kitsch '80s rock in 2002, with a teenage fascination with the likes of a-ha and A Flock of Seagulls spilling into his previously futuristic blend of switchblade beats and soaring power synths. Similarly, Paris-based producer Fred Bigot felt the need to connect his own love with glam rock with a favored specialism of techno, to somewhat mind-scrambling result. Although noted by such king makers as Time Out as one to watch, the producer struggles to extrapolate himself from the ultimately throwaway disposability that dogged the high-concept, yet more often lowest-common-denominator, trashiness that ultimately proved the undoing of electroclash. With little other than a fuzz pedal distinguishing Bigot from the faded glamour of his contemporaries in electroclash, nothing on 21st Century Toy quite reaches the glam-tastic heights of the hand-clapped opener, "Tonight"; indeed, the remaining track listing of similarly effected vocals, mild hooks, and muddy production is quick only to evanesce into an intangible mush. ~ Kingsley Marshall

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Tonight - 4:45
  2. 2. Frisco Bay - 5:58
  3. 3. 21st Century Toy - 4:49
  4. 4. Experience - 6:35
  5. 5. Hoo Woo Woo - 5:34
  6. 6. Whenever You Want - 7:51
  7. 7. Till I Die - 4:47
  8. 8. Baby You - 4:42
  9. 9. Sauterelle - 5:43
  10. 10. Gitarkatze - 4:19
  11. 11. Birds Want to Have Fun - 3:04
  12. 12. Amour Salé - 4:48

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews