Education / O.S.T.



Product Promotions

20% off any 1 item

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.dcab001341502.2


    Education / O.S.T. Decca / London

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text The plot line of studious teenager Jenny, compelled to discover the larger picture of life through worldly suitor Peter circa 1961, only gets the ball rolling for the music in the soundtrack of the film An Education. Director Lone Scherfig and screenplay author Nick Hornby decided to base the backing music on jazz instead of R&B or the burgeoning rock & roll scene. Familiar hit songs of the era, Parisian waltzes (Jenny is fond of French everything, and the stately, romantic music of Edward Elgar), and groove-based jazz make up most of the music on this recording work well in their own right. While the connecting original themes are serene, spacy, and not just a little atmospheric, and "Jenny's Theme" is a beautiful piano epilogue done by music director Paul Englishby, the rest of the music reflects the era’s seeming innocence. It's great for baby boomers, and boomers at heart, to hear great old hits like Brenda Lee's classic "Sweet Nothin's," the calypso blues "Tell the Truth" by Ray Charles, and Mel Tormé's rockin' take of Bob Dorough's "Comin' Home Baby." Instrumentals like the great piano trio version of "Since I Fell for You" by Vince Guaraldi, the memorable boogaloo by Floyd Cramer "On the Rebound," and the surfer dude anthem by the Hunters "Teen Scene" might conjure old sentiments, as non-vocal tracks did make the hit parade in the day. Then there's the Percy Faith opus "Theme from 'A Summer Place'," which holds equal romantic charm and sappiness. The updated songs include two by the wonderful English singer Beth Rowley, who has legitimate jazz flowing in her veins. She does faithful versions of the slow-surrender love song "You Got Me Wrapped Around Your Little Finger," and the great tune of affirmation "A Sunday Kind of Love." For many, the highlights of the soundtrack will be Duffy's retro take on "Smoke Without Fire," as she also plays a bit part in the movie as a lounge singer, and the wonderful American vocalist Melody Gardot singing "Your Heart Is as Black as Night" with the savvy of a scorned woman twice her age. Jenny is particularly fond of Juliette Gréco, who sings two French torch songs on the soundtrack, and Madeleine Peyroux does her best contemporary Billie Holiday impression during "J'ai Deux Amours." ~ Michael G. Nastos

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. You've Got Me Wrapped Around Your Little Finger - 3:58
  2. 2. On the Rebound - 2:08
  3. 3. Sous le Ciel de Paris - 3:19
  4. 4. Comin' Home Baby - 3:41
  5. 5. Teen Scene - 2:04
  6. 6. Tell the Truth [Live] - 3:03
  7. 7. Sweet Nothin's [Single Version] - 2:23
  8. 8. Maybe Tomorrow [Mono Version] - 2:12
  9. 9. David and Jenny - 2:30
  10. 10. Sur Les Quais Du Vieux Paris - 3:04
  11. 11. Theme from "A Summer Place" - 2:22
  12. 12. Sunday Kind of Love - 3:19
  13. 13. Since I Fell for You - 4:21
  14. 14. Waltz in the Street - 1:22
  15. 15. Smoke Without Fire - 4:00
  16. 16. Your Heart is As Black As Night - 3:44
  17. 17. Education - 3:11
  18. 18. Letters - 3:28
  19. 19. Jenny's Theme - 2:33
  20. 20. J'ai Deux Amours - 3:58

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products