Ta Det Lugnt


aec.subl17a.1 9/2/16 New
$24.73 $32.98

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)
ID: aec.subl17a.1


    Ta Det Lugnt Subliminal Sounds

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Psychedelic rock has seen a number of revivals since its heyday in the late '60s. Often times, these bands sound like they're simply aping the influences they wear so prominently on their sleeves. Dungen, on the other hand, sound like they've somehow been directly transported from 1968 to the present. Maybe it's their vintage equipment, or maybe it's the fact that most listeners probably haven't heard much Swedish-language psychedelia for comparison, but this doesn't have the second- or third-generation rehashed flavor that so many modern psychsters can't avoid. There's a pungent aroma of, um, authenticity here that other bands haven't been able to match, from the wicked fuzz guitar to the organ and flute workouts. There are some great psych-pop moments throughout, and these melodies are likely to stick in your head even if Swedish isn't your language, but there are also detours into some pretty serious hard-psych territory as well as flute-led hippie free jazz and even some Swedish folk flavors (like the intro to "Du E För Fin För Mig"). There is little studio trickery beyond some simple tape echo, but the acid-colored vibes come through loud and clear. Gustav Ejstes (the one-man band behind Dungen) has an incredible knack for a great tune, an ear for production, and then the ability to perform all the parts and still sound like a band. Guitar ringer Reine Fiske has one of the gnarliest fuzz tones ever heard and contributes excellent raw lead guitar all over, particularly on the title cut and "Gjort Bort Sig" or when the acoustic guitar, fiddle, and Mellotron of "Du E För Fin För Mig" suddenly switch to a blistering electric coda. Ta Det Lugnt clearly evokes another time and headspace, but there's an underlying passion that keeps it sounding fresh (much like when the Bevis Frond appeared in the late '80s). Put on your ear-goggles and head back to the late '60s. ~ Sean Westergaard

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews