Dreams Of The Way We Were (Uk)


ID: aec.imt1118548.1


    Dreams Of The Way We Were (Uk) Let Them Eat Vinyl

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text This live radio performance from golden-voiced rock troubadour Jeff Buckley features several songs that would eventually appear on his critically acclaimed 1994 debut, Grace. Broadcast by WFNU-FM in Orange, New Jersey in October 1992, this solo set precedes his Live at Sin-é EP by almost a year and features a number of additional covers that were in his live catalog prior to signing with Columbia. Like much of his early work, most of the songs here are well-chosen covers with the exception of "Eternal Life," which would appear in a similar stripped-down form on Sin-é and then again with a full band on Grace. Some songs like Van Morrison's "The Way Young Lovers Do" and Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah" would become signature songs during Buckley's brief career, while others like Screamin' Jay Hawkins' "Alligator Wine" and Elton John's "We All Fall in Love Sometimes" eventually worked their way out of his set. Sonically, this broadcast (which also includes a nine-minute interview) is a little bit murky, but it's fascinating to hear how fully developed his style already was at this point. Soulful, poised, and yet wholly spontaneous, Buckley's supreme confidence (even more so than his voice) was the asset that truly made him such a magnetic performer. ~ Timothy Monger

Track Listing

Record: 1

  1. 1. Lost Highway
  2. 2. Eternal Life
  3. 3. Please Send Me Someone to Love
  4. 4. Way Young Lovers Do
  5. 5. Interview
  6. 6. Hallelujah
  7. 7. Mama, You've Been on My Mind

Record: 2

  1. 8. Alligator Wine
  2. 9. Calling You
  3. 10. Unforgiven
  4. 11. We All Fall in Love Sometimes
  5. 12. Curtains
  6. 13. Dink's Song
  7. 14. Corpus Christi Carol

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products