Hold You In My Heart


aec.vall15132.2 9/26/00 New

Product Promotions

20% off 1 item (excludes pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.vall15132.2


    Hold You In My Heart Valley Entertainment

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text It's fitting that around the time of this release Don Walser won a National Heritage Award, for this man's voice is a national treasure and qualifies as high Texas folk art. Walser's been doing this for a half-decade, and many of those years as an avocation, so obviously he has not seen the rewards and recognition of many of his classic country peers. The new millennium finds him still keeping swinging country music alive, however -- and in good throat, as I'll Hold You in My Heart attests. He's made his mark with his unparalleled yodeling, and the album kicks off with his unearthly stylings all over the yodeling showcase "Yodeling the Blues." The title track places Walser in ballad mode, and when he punctuates his lonesomeness by shooting glibly up into falsetto, it'll raise the hair on your arms. The Walser composition "El Paso Cowboy" finds Walser alternating between straight, low-histrionic honky tonk singing and short, sweet flourishes of yodeling. He also tackles Merle Haggard's "Hungry Eyes" in a lower register and pays tribute to Haggard and co-icon Buck Owens with the Bakersfield-flavored "Buck & Merle." When it comes to evocative, classic country music, it doesn't get much better than this. ~ Erik Hage

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Yodeling the Blues - 3:02
  2. 2. Sweet Thang & Cisco - 4:48
  3. 3. I'll Hold You in My Heart (Till I Can Hold You in My Arms) - 3:24
  4. 4. Rock-a-Billy Rage - 3:45
  5. 5. Paso Cowboy - 3:26
  6. 6. If You Don't Want to See Me Going (Turn and Look the Other Way) - 3:24
  7. 7. Buck and Merle - 3:51
  8. 8. Sweet Kind of Love - 4:12
  9. 9. When It's Springtime in the Rockies - 3:10
  10. 10. Cinderella - 3:06
  11. 11. Hungry Eyes - 4:17
  12. 12. Country Gold - 3:03

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews