Issue Vi (Bonus Tracks) (Ltd) (Dig)


aec.mmnd1387.2 12/7/10 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.mmnd1387.2


    Issue Vi (Bonus Tracks) (Ltd) (Dig) Metal Mind Productions

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text One would probably expect a band named Dew-Scented to tread the gothic, ambient metal netherworld, but these Germans, in fact, specialize in neo-death metal/thrash of the most frantic and no-holds-barred stripe imaginable. Quite a spectacle to be heard, typically maniacal creations like "Processing Life," "Out of the Self" and "Vortex" race by at utterly blinding speeds and with almost super-human intensity; their onslaught characterized by Leif Jensen's possessed-sounding screams, Florian Müller's crunchy hyper-staccato riffing, and Uwe Werning's octopus-like precision drumming (no slouch himself, bassist Alexander Pahl hangs on for dear life!) And elsewhere, additional highlights like "Turn to Ash," "Bled Dry," and "In Defeat" contribute spidery melodic guitar lines for an even more dazzling, At the Gates-derived dimension to the fierce spectacle. Having said that, however, it takes a real glutton for speed to actually sit through and digest these dangerously repetitive blasts. Dew-Scented is both reckless and ballsy to stack them 12 deep, thereby far exceeding the unofficial half-hour limit imposed on such releases by Slayer's form-defining Reign in Blood decades prior, and most listeners may find themselves praying for a break in the action so they can collect their thoughts. But Issue VI offers no such respite -- slowing down for anything beyond the requisitely brief synthetic intro piece is out of the question -- and if you don't think the pace is insane enough to begin with, they throw a minute-long Zeke cover at the end for good measure. The end result is impressive enough, but truly for speed-freaks only. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Processing Life - 4:09
  2. 2. Rituals Of Time - 5:06
  3. 3. Turn To Ash - 3:07
  4. 4. Ruins Of Hope - 4:12
  5. 5. Out Of The Self - 4:41
  6. 6. The Prison Of Reason - 5:48
  7. 7. Bled Dry - 4:57
  8. 8. In Defeat - 4:52
  9. 9. Never To Return - 4:22
  10. 10. Vortex - 4:15
  11. 11. Conceptual End - 3:18
  12. 12. Evil Dead - 1:00
  13. 13. Full-Blown Revenge - 3:26
  14. 14. The Torrent - 5:30
  15. 15. Turn To Ash [Video]

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews