aec.ecm831959.2 1/25/00 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.ecm831959.2


    Arbos ECM New Series / ECM

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Pärt's 1987 release, Arbos, shows the composer working within his medium, bringing forth a body of music sacred in sound and message and presenting new compositional techniques. Utilizing a limited palette of tones, arranged in repeating patterns, these works are often (understandably) categorized with the works of Glass, Reich, and Riley. Tonal patette is often borrowed from European medieval styles, and this, in conjunction with the liturgical subject matter, make these new compositions feel centuries old. His Pari Intervello, originally scored in 1978 for wind instruments, his here recorded for solo organist. One of his more famous pieces, Stabat Mater, is presented here, an airy piece that floats just on the threshold of awareness. Scored for vocal trio and string trio, this is a simply beautiful piece -- very expressive and lilting. ~ Mark W. B. Allender

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Arbos, for 4 trumpets, 4 trombones, and percussion - 2:29
  2. 2. An den Wassern zu Babel saßen wir und weinten, for trombone & chamber orchestra - 7:34
  3. 3. Pari intervallo, for organ - 6:47
  4. 4. De Profundis, for male chorus, percussion & organ - 7:52
  5. 5. Es sang vor langen Jahren, for counter-tenor or alto with violin & viola - 6:54
  6. 6. Summa, for SATB chorus or soloists - 5:19
  7. 7. Arbos, for 4 trumpets, 4 trombones, and percussion - 2:29
  8. 8. Stabat Mater, for soprano, alto, tenor, violin, viola & cello - 24:54

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews