Battle Rages On


aec.rcve115420.2 7/2/93 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.rcve115420.2


    Battle Rages On BMG Bertelsmann Music Group / BMG International / RCA
    1. Battle Rages On BMG Bertelsmann Music Group / BMG International / RCA
    2. Battle Rages On (Blus) (Jpn) Sony Music / Sony Music Distribution

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Personality clashes are as much a part of Deep Purple as Ritchie Blackmore's penchant for black clothing. A revolving door of members resulted in different lineups being given their own labels. The most popular version of Purple has always been the Mark II model: Ian Gillan, Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord, Roger Glover, and Ian Paice. This particular quintet has gotten together and had members leave in each of the past three decades, and The Battle Rages On... was that lineup's contribution to the '90s. Following a brief stint where former Rainbow vocalist Joe Lynn Turner sang lead for Purple on the prior Slaves and Masters, Gillan returned for another go-round in 1993. Personal differences aside, The Battle Rages On... picks up on the kind of chemistry that made albums like Machine Head and Perfect Strangers classics. Three decades on, Blackmore's range on guitar is still impressive as he goes from playing with an arrogant swagger on "One Man's Meat" to a fleet-fingered flamenco intro that kicks off the epic "Anya." Elsewhere, "A Twist in the Tale" plays out with the same kind of intensity as "Highway Star," while the hard-driving title track proved to be prophetic as Blackmore departed the band.

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Battle Rages On - 6:57
  2. 2. Lick It Up - 4:00
  3. 3. Anya - 7:32
  4. 4. Talk About Love - 4:07
  5. 5. Time To Kill - 6:50
  6. 6. Ramshackle Man - 6:34
  7. 7. Twist In The Tale - 4:17
  8. 8. Nasty Piece Of Work - 5:36
  9. 9. Solitaire - 5:42
  10. 10. One Man's Meat - 5:38

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews