Dream With Dean Everybody


rovi.MR0000832401 10/23/01 Used

Product Promotions

30% off used CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 3 or more (excludes exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000832401


    Dream With Dean Everybody Collectors' Choice Music

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The combination of these two Dean Martin albums on a single CD is logical enough; after all, they were released originally on the same day. But they are actually a curious mismatch: one of Martin's best albums ever and one of his worst. In March 1964, Martin cut Dream With Dean, subtitled "The Intimate Dean Martin," a collection of standards done in slow, spare arrangements with only a quartet consisting of piano (Ken Lane), guitar (Barney Kessel), bass (Red Mitchell), and drums (Irving Cottler). The result was his most impressive album outing since 1959's Sleep Warm. Among the selections was Lane's co-composition, the 1940s song "Everybody Loves Somebody." Producer Jimmy Bowen heard something in the tune, and he had Ernie Freeman do a 1950s-style rock & roll arrangement that Martin recorded for a single in April. Released in May, it took off for the top of the charts, which gave Reprise Records a dilemma, since Dream With Dean was already on its release schedule for August. To exploit the hit, the label cobbled together an album called Everybody Loves Somebody out of old, failed singles, B-sides, and LP tracks borrowed from Martin's two country albums of the previous year and, to avoid confusion with the Dream With Dean recording of "Everybody Loves Somebody," slapped a sign on the cover with the subtitle "The Hit Version." Both albums were issued on August 4, 1964, and both became gold-selling hits, with the Everybody Loves Somebody album reaching number one. Together on one CD, they make an odd pairing, the calm, late-night tone of the first 12 tracks giving way to the motley jumble of selections on the second half. Martin fans who know the history of the releases may take it in stride, but others will be puzzled. ~ William Ruhlmann

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You) - 3:15
  2. 2. Fools Rush In - 3:04
  3. 3. I'll Buy That Dream - 3:16
  4. 4. If You Were the Only Girl in the World - 3:03
  5. 5. Blue Moon - 3:07
  6. 6. Everybody Loves Somebody - 3:11
  7. 7. I Don't Know Why (I Just Do) - 3:36
  8. 8. Gimme A Little Kiss (Will Ya, Huh!) - 2:18
  9. 9. Hands Across the Table - 2:18
  10. 10. Smile - 3:58
  11. 11. My Melancholy Baby - 3:45
  12. 12. Baby Won't You Please Come Home - 2:18
  13. 13. Everybody Loves Somebody - 3:46
  14. 14. Your Other Love - 3:31
  15. 15. Shutters and Boards - 3:51
  16. 16. Baby-O - 3:59
  17. 17. Little Voice - 2:05
  18. 18. Things - 3:40
  19. 19. My Heart Cries for You - 3:10
  20. 20. Siesta Fiesta - 3:38
  21. 21. From Lover to Loser - 3:07
  22. 22. Just Close Your Eyes - 3:57
  23. 23. Corrine, Corrina - 3:46
  24. 24. Face in a Crowd - 3:48

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews