Dogg Pound Gangsta Lp0105


rovi.MR0001897027 1/25/05 Used
$6.74 $8.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001897027


    Dogg Pound Gangsta Lp0105 Gangsta Advisory

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Any hip-hop heads, apart from the most hateful haters, should be able to find it within themselves to respect Daz Dillinger to some extent. Despite not burning up the charts for a few years, Dillinger seems to now be content with lurking in the underground, releasing adequate-to-reputable albums and mixtapes every few months. Most rappers and producers squeezed into the underground after time spent at the top of the charts turn spiteful real quick and remain that way, growing increasingly embittered with each succession of platinum acts. Dillinger's cool with it all, documented in the thank yous within the liners of Tha Dogg Pound Gangsta LP: "Everybody out there making it happen... the whole hip-hop unit... we on top of the world right now, lets keep it that way!" His contentment with the state of hip-hop, and life in general, bleeds all through Tha Dogg Pound Gangsta LP, a raunchy laid-back party record for most of its duration. It's West Coast through and through, despite hip-hop's swing to the South that has increased in significance since the late '90s. Dillinger defiantly sticks to the same musical sources -- the '70s and '80s electrified funk that became a West Coast signature remains, so Zapp and Funkadelic/Parliament nods are served up nonstop. This has more to do with Dillinger knowing what he does best than creative bankruptcy. Though the album is predominantly hedonistic and fun-loving, its few diversions into full-on menace (the swirling, booming "Get a Dose of Dis Hot Ish" is one of his best productions) and poignant contemplation make the affair well-rounded. Tha Dogg Pound Gangsta LP isn't destined to wake up the West Coast like the Game's debut album, released just a week prior on a much bigger label, but it should have no trouble pleasing those willing to give it a shot. It's not a bad prelude to the next Dr. Dre album, either, even if it's done on a much smaller budget. ~ Andy Kellman

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. That's the Way We Ride - 5:02
  2. 2. Do You Think About - 4:54
  3. 3. Everybody Givin' It Up - 4:11
  4. 4. 'N Tha Yard (Interlude) - 1:17
  5. 5. Nothin' Can Stop Us Now - 5:52
  6. 6. Do U Know - 5:31
  7. 7. Funeral (Skit) - 1:55
  8. 8. F*** Dreamin' Tha Same Dream - 4:14
  9. 9. My Mama Said - 4:17
  10. 10. My Ambitionz Az a Ridah 2005 - 4:15
  11. 11. Hey...How Ya' Doin' - 5:32
  12. 12. Come Close - 4:06
  13. 13. Rocc Wit Daz - 4:10
  14. 14. Bomb Azz Pu**y 2005 - 4:22
  15. 15. Ni**a Gotta Hustle It Up - 5:49
  16. 16. Gittin' Buccwild - 4:23
  17. 17. Git a Dose of Dis Hot Ish - 4:48
  18. 18. Tha Dogg Pound Gangsta - 4:14
  19. 19. Fu** Tha Police 2005 - 2:00

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews