Estranged 0903


rovi.MR0000836641 9/9/03 Used

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000836641


    Estranged 0903 Heyday Records / Heyday

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Love and Rockets loyalists are sure to recognize David J's familiar voice at the outset of Estranged, but they might be perplexed by the one-time Bauhaus bassist's cover choice. "Guitar Man," Bread's 1972 pop nugget, gets redone here with roaring riff work by guest player Dave Navarro of Jane's Addiction. And if the man born Haskins pumps new life into this oldie, one can't help but wonder why he opted to start the album with a touch of novelty when some of his own material is far better. The pale bard still has it on "Static Cling" and "In the Great Blue Whenever," two somber but exceptional ballads buried midalbum that wisely utilize pedal steel accents. Country elements also infiltrate "Mess Up," a soft pop ode to personal demons, as well as "Crashed," where a twang guitar meets mid-tempo drum programming and lyrics about marital foul play. At times, most obviously on "Ruined Cities," David J's delivery -- coupled with minimalist techno beats -- sounds very similar to the dramatic stylings of The The's Matt Johnson, but even when he does impersonations, he does them quite well. While the barstool novelty of "Bright in Your Absence" delves further into the heart of Nashville than any goth star has the right to, Estranged is a fine effort, even if it is occasionally misguided. ~ John D. Luerssen

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Guitar Man - 6:41
  2. 2. Mess Up - 3:26
  3. 3. Pulling Arrows from Our Heels - 4:42
  4. 4. Ruined Cities - 5:26
  5. 5. Static Cling - 4:38
  6. 6. In the Great Blue Whenever - 5:38
  7. 7. Crashed - 4:23
  8. 8. If Anything Should Ever Happen to You - 5:42
  9. 9. Ballad of August and June - 6:41
  10. 10. Bright in Your Absence - 5:22
  11. 11. Trophy Wife - 4:43
  12. 12. Arc of Return - 4:10
  13. 13. Estranged - 4:08
  14. 14. Time in the Sun - 1:03

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews