Mason & Cass Elliot 693


fye.000000400100536841 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400100536841


    Mason & Cass Elliot 693 Universal Special Products / MCA
    1. Mason & Cass Elliot 693 Universal Special Products / MCA
    2. Dave Mason & Cass Elliot Rev-Ola Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Ostensibly a Dave Mason solo album, this became one of his finest when he was coupled with Cass Elliot, a stroke of genius. Elliot's involvement is, while not suspect, somewhat limited. Although she provides excellent background vocals, she tends to get a little lost in the harmony stack. Nevertheless, this is a great moment for her too. The album, though, is propelled by Mason's awesome songwriting talents, and tracks such as "On and On," "Walk to the Point," and several others bear this out. His guitar playing is some of his finest recorded work, especially the epic "Glittering Facade," where he layers acoustic and electric guitars with a scintillating effect. Elliot's "Here We Go Again" showcases her ability as a great lead vocalist, and Paul Harris provides some excellent keyboard and string arrangements, providing a glimpse of the fine work that was to follow in Stephen Stills' Manassas. Overall, this was a highly underrated album, but in the end, it is also one of the finest from the '70s. ~ Matthew Greenwald

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Walk to the Point - 4:01
  2. 2. On and On - 4:36
  3. 3. To Be Free - 4:37
  4. 4. Here We Go Again - 3:50
  5. 5. Pleasing You - 3:03
  6. 6. Sit and Wonder - 4:31
  7. 7. Something to Make You Happy - 2:18
  8. 8. Too Much Truth, Too Much Love - 4:52
  9. 9. Next to You - 3:31
  10. 10. Glittering Facade - 5:46

Customer Reviews