Soft Spoken 1003


rovi.MR0000838670 10/14/03 Used
$1.27 $1.49

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000838670


    Soft Spoken 1003 True Life Entertainment

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The spiritually minded, melodic saxman Darron McKinney is the smooth jazz equivalent of vocalist Daniel Rodriguez, the NYPD officer who shot to national prominence with his stunning rendition of "God Bless America" post-9/11. Although the inspirational "A Call to Courage" (presented as both an instrumental and vocal, sung by Michelle Colvin) arrives at the end of the set, it's clearly the soul of the project. McKinney, a Detroit native and deputy sheriff, performed it at the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Candlelight Vigil in 2001 in Washington, D.C., as a tribute to fallen officers. It's a lush soprano tune that epitomizes McKinney's cool, graceful approach on tracks like the title cut. Smooth jazz radio embraced the similarly lyrical but slightly more upbeat "Shift Change," which features ethereal backing vocals. For those seeking something more soulful, "McKinney" goes a little jazzier on the lower-toned, tenor-driven "75 South." McKinney's faith is also a powerful thread weaving through here, from the gospel-flavored ballad "What a Friend" to a dreamy rendition of "His Eye Is on the Sparrow" and the vocal/instrumental tandem of "Never Alone." Only time will tell if McKinney like Rodriguez will be able to parlay the musical aspect of his public service into a full-time gig. As a newcomer trying to make inroads into the smooth jazz scene, he's off to an above average start. ~ Jonathan Widran

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Soft Spoken - 4:40
  2. 2. Shift Change - 4:03
  3. 3. 75 South - 4:02
  4. 4. Inner Prizm - 4:28
  5. 5. What a Friend - 4:34
  6. 6. Metro Lights - 4:16
  7. 7. His Eye Is on the Sparrow - 6:37
  8. 8. Never Alone - 3:29
  9. 9. Soulmate - 6:24
  10. 10. Interlude - 2:51
  11. 11. Corey's Song - 6:45
  12. 12. Never Alone - 3:29
  13. 13. Interlude - 1:34
  14. 14. Call to Courage - 5:52
  15. 15. Call to Courage - 5:43

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews