Cypress Hill: 25 Th Anniversary Cypress Hill Skull



Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.gdwn9005.2


    Cypress Hill: 25 Th Anniversary Cypress Hill Skull Get On Down
    1. Cypress Hill: 25 Th Anniversary Cypress Hill Skull Get On Down
    2. Cypress Hill (Jpn) Sony Music Distribution
    3. Cypress Hill BMG / Sony Music

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text It's hard enough to transform an entire musical genre -- Cypress Hill's eponymous debut album revolutionized hip-hop in several respects. Although they weren't the first Latino rappers, nor the first to mix Spanish and English, they were the first to achieve a substantial following, thanks to their highly distinctive sound. Along with Beastie Boys and Public Enemy, Cypress Hill were also one of the first rap groups to bridge the gap with fans of both hard rock and alternative rock. And, most importantly, they created a sonic blueprint that would become one of the most widely copied in hip-hop. In keeping with their promarijuana stance, Cypress Hill intentionally crafted their music to sound stoned -- lots of slow, lazy beats, fat bass, weird noises, and creepily distant-sounding samples. The surreal lyrical narratives were almost exclusively spun by B Real in a nasal, singsong, instantly recognizable delivery that only added to the music's hazy, evocative atmosphere; as a frontman, he could be funny, frightening, or just plain bizarre (again, kind of like the experience of being stoned). Whether he's taunting cops or singing nursery rhyme-like choruses about blasting holes in people with shotguns, B Real's blunted-gangsta posture is nearly always underpinned by a cartoonish sense of humor. It's never clear how serious the threats are, but that actually makes them all the more menacing. The sound and style of Cypress Hill was hugely influential, particularly on Dr. Dre's boundary-shattering 1992 blockbuster The Chronic; yet despite its legions of imitators, Cypress Hill still sounds fresh and original today, simply because few hip-hop artists can put its sound across with such force of personality or imagination. ~ Steve Huey

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Pigs - 3:46
  2. 2. How I Could Just Kill a Man - 4:12
  3. 3. Hand on the Pump - 4:03
  4. 4. Hole in the Head - 4:33
  5. 5. Ultraviolet Dreams - 1:41
  6. 6. Light Another - 3:17
  7. 7. Phuncky Feel One - 3:28
  8. 8. Break It Up - 1:07
  9. 9. Real Estate - 4:45
  10. 10. Stoned Is the Way of the Walk - 3:46
  11. 11. Psycobetabuckdown - 3:59
  12. 12. Something for the Blunted - 1:15
  13. 13. Latin Lingo - 4:58
  14. 14. Funky Cypress Hill Shit - 4:01
  15. 15. Tres Equis - 2:54
  16. 16. Born to Get Busy - 3:59

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products

BOGO 50% Off Apparel & Accessories
BOGO 50% Off Apparel & Accessories
FYE Exclusive!