She's So Unusual: A 30 Th Anniversary Celebration


aec.epic301662.2 4/1/14 New
$8.49 $9.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.epic301662.2


    She's So Unusual: A 30 Th Anniversary Celebration Epic / Legacy / Portrait
    1. She's So Unusual: A 30 Th Anniversary Celebration Epic / Legacy / Portrait
    2. She's So Unusual (Uk) Epic
    3. She's So Unusual 30 Th Anniversary Edition (Blus)
    4. She's So Unusual (Gold Series) (Aus)
    5. She's So Unusual BMG / Sony Music / Sony Music Entertainment
    6. She's So Unusual (Blus) (Jpn) Sony Music Entertainment

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text One of the great new wave/early MTV records, She's So Unusual is a giddy mix of self-confidence, effervescent popcraft, unabashed sentimentality, subversiveness, and clever humor. In short, it's a multifaceted portrait of a multifaceted talent, an artist that's far more clever than her thin, deliberately girly voice would indicate. Then again, Lauper's voice suits her musical persona, since its chirpiness adds depth, or reconfigures the songs, whether it's the call to arms of "Girls Just Want to Have Fun" or the tearjerking "Time After Time." Lauper is at her very best on the first side, all of which were singles or received airplay, and this collection of songs -- "Money Changes Everything," "Girls," "When You Were Mine," "Time," "She Bop," "All Through the Night" -- is astonishing in its consistency, so strong that it makes the remaining tracks -- all enjoyable, but rather pedestrian -- charming by their association with songs so brilliantly alive. If Lauper couldn't maintain this level of consistency, it's because this captured her persona better than anyone could imagine -- when a debut captures a personality so well, let alone a personality so tied to its time, the successive work can't help but pale in comparison. Still, when it's captured as brightly and brilliantly as it is here, it does result in a debut that retains its potency, long after its production seems a little dated. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Money Changes Everything - 5:05
  2. 2. Girls Just Want to Have Fun - 4:58
  3. 3. When You Were Mine - 5:06
  4. 4. Time After Time - 4:03
  5. 5. She Bop - 4:52
  6. 6. All Through the Night - 5:32
  7. 7. Witness - 4:40
  8. 8. I'll Kiss You - 4:12
  9. 9. He's So Unusual - 1:46
  10. 10. Yeah Yeah - 3:18
  11. 11. Girls Just Want to Have Fun [2013 Yolanda Be Cool Remix] - 6:52
  12. 12. Time After Time [2013 NERVO Back in Time Remix] - 5:53
  13. 13. Time After Time [2013 Bent Collective Remix] - 7:15

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews