Come Away With Me



Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.blun32088b.2


    Come Away With Me Blue Note / Capitol
    1. Come Away With Me Blue Note / Capitol
    2. Come Away With Me (Hol) Parlophone

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Norah Jones' debut on Blue Note is a mellow, acoustic pop affair with soul and country overtones, immaculately produced by the great Arif Mardin. (It's pretty much an open secret that the 22-year-old vocalist and pianist is the daughter of Ravi Shankar.) Jones is not quite a jazz singer, but she is joined by some highly regarded jazz talent: guitarists Adam Levy, Adam Rogers, Tony Scherr, Bill Frisell, and Kevin Breit; drummers Brian Blade, Dan Rieser, and Kenny Wollesen; organist Sam Yahel; accordionist Rob Burger; and violinist Jenny Scheinman. Her regular guitarist and bassist, Jesse Harris and Lee Alexander, respectively, play on every track and also serve as the chief songwriters. Both have a gift for melody, simple yet elegant progressions, and evocative lyrics. (Harris made an intriguing guest appearance on Seamus Blake's Stranger Things Have Happened.) Jones, for her part, wrote the title track and the pretty but slightly restless "Nightingale." She also includes convincing readings of Hank Williams' "Cold Cold Heart," J.D. Loudermilk's "Turn Me On," and Hoagy Carmichael's "The Nearness of You." There's a touch of Rickie Lee Jones in Jones' voice, a touch of Bonnie Raitt in the arrangements; her youth and her piano skills could lead one to call her an Alicia Keys for grown-ups. While the mood of this record stagnates after a few songs, it does give a strong indication of Jones' alluring talents. ~ David R. Adler

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Don't Know Why - 3:06
  2. 2. Seven Years - 2:25
  3. 3. Cold, Cold Heart - 4:38
  4. 4. Feelin' the Same Way - 3:57
  5. 5. Come Away with Me - 3:18
  6. 6. Shoot the Moon - 4:56
  7. 7. Turn Me On - 3:34
  8. 8. Lonestar - 3:06
  9. 9. I've Got to See You Again - 4:13
  10. 10. Painter Song - 3:42
  11. 11. One Flight Down - 3:05
  12. 12. Nightingale - 4:12
  13. 13. Long Day Is Over - 3:44
  14. 14. Nearness of You - 3:07

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews