Compact Jazz 0890


rovi.MR0001894795 Used

Product Promotions

20% off sitewide with $25 purchase (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001894795


    Compact Jazz 0890 Emarcy / PolyGram

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text One of most enthralling bodies of work from the post-bebop years, Clifford Brown's sides for the Verve and Blue Note labels deserve a spot in every serious jazz collection. But where to start? For those wanting to just sample the goods, there are a handful of fine budget discs out there, especially on Verve; this edition of their Compact Jazz series certainly ranks high, thanks to a balanced program of the trumpeter's varied output. Mostly cut in the few years before his tragic death in 1956, the 12 tracks include some of Brown's cornerstone combo work with drummer Max Roach ("Jordu") and sideman sessions for both Sarah Vaughan ("It's Crazy") and Dinah Washington ("I've Got You Under My Skin"). Add to that a taste of Brown's lovely strings date with Neil Hefti, more vocals (this time with Helen Merrill), and the solo contributions of Sonny Rollins, Clark Terry, Harold Land, and many others. A fine overview, indeed. ~ Stephen Cook

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Blues Walk - 7:47
  2. 2. I Get a Kick out of You - 8:40
  3. 3. It's Crazy - 5:59
  4. 4. Jordu - 8:48
  5. 5. Stardust - 3:27
  6. 6. Parisian Thoroughfare - 7:21
  7. 7. Joy Spring - 7:54
  8. 8. I'll Remember April - 9:20
  9. 9. I've Got You Under My Skin - 6:35
  10. 10. Daahoud - 4:06
  11. 11. Yesterdays - 6:02
  12. 12. Flossie Lou - 4:57

Customer Reviews