Way It Goes


aec.bvw5197.2 4/12/05 New
$12.79 $15.99

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.bvw5197.2


    Way It Goes Bayview

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take up to 8 weeks to ship.


Review Text Christopher Gines is likely best known for being one of the three major participants in the well-received, award-winning off-Broadway review Our Sinatra, dedicated to the contribution Frank Sinatra made to American popular song. To his credit, Gines hasn't carried the concept of "songs that Sinatra sang" to this his second album. While the play list has a few familiar tunes, it focuses on those that are the bread and butter of the cabaret style, telling a story but which have not necessarily received much public exposure either through recordings or live performances. Composers who are favored by cabaret stylists are well-represented on this album, including Peter Allen, Cy Coleman, Burt Bacharach, and Marilyn and Alan Bergman. Gines does well by all of them. Forsaking the hushed, breathy voice that is the trademark of many male cabaret singers, Gines' creamy smooth tenor/baritone comes through strong and confident. On "Whoever You Are, I Love You," he flies on the wings of a solid horn section lead by Bruce Eiden's trombone. This is a big production number and one of the few tracks where horns are present. "Make Me Rainbows" gets a swinging, jazzy treatment highlighted by the bass solo of Dean Johnson and topped off by Lee Musiker's strong piano. Gines shows that he can put a ballad across without engaging in overdone emotional antics with his performances of "Two for the Road," featuring the guitar of Don Carillo, and "Come a Little Closer." These two cuts reveal why Gines was so successful in the Sinatra review. While his voice is not Sinatra's, his feel for the lyrics, phrasing, and the critical sense of timing are similar. This is a fine vocal album and is recommended. ~ Dave Nathan

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Sorry - Grateful - 4:30
  2. 2. Here I Go Again - 3:58
  3. 3. My Heart Has a Mind of It's Own - 4:05
  4. 4. Whoever You Are, I Love You - 4:34
  5. 5. Two for the Road - 4:55
  6. 6. Music That Makes Me Dance - 5:54
  7. 7. I'd Rather Leave While I'm in Love - 3:08
  8. 8. Trouble with Hello Is Goodbye - 4:00
  9. 9. There's No Such Thing as Love - 4:44
  10. 10. Make Me Rainbows - 4:45
  11. 11. Come a Little Closer - 4:04
  12. 12. I Promise You a Happy Ending - 3:58
  13. 13. Quiet Thing - 4:23
  14. 14. Way It Goes - 4:09
  15. 15. I'll Never Say Goodbye - 5:35

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews