Hungary For The Blues0806


rovi.MR0000847224 11/8/05 Used

Product Promotions

20% off 1 item (excludes pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000847224


    Hungary For The Blues0806 Blue Label / SPV

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Still possessed of one of the crunchiest growls in rock, Chris Farlowe divides his time these days between the sporadically re-formed Colosseum and a solo career that just won't quit. Hungary for the Blues spotlights the latter, a live set recorded at the Gastroblues Festival Parks in Hungary (hence the awful pun of the CD title) back in 2000, and it's as powerful a representation of his live show as you could hope for. Spinning back and forth throughout his career, the repertoire hits all the high spots. "Out of Time," "Handbags and Gladrags," and a terrific take on the Small Faces' "All or Nothing" spin him back to the days when he was a bona fide pop star; a clutch of bluesier numbers (a deliciously protracted "Stormy Monday," "This Guitar Don't Lie," "Lonesome Road") exemplify the music that he's always loved the best; and Randy Newman's "I Think It's Gonna Rain Today" and Glenn Frey's "Who's Been Sleeping in My Bed" remind listeners just what a great ear for a song Farlowe's always had. It's a terrific-sounding disc, all the more so if you can listen to it just a few decibels below the pain threshold. Farlowe's vinyl recordings have always lacked a certain something; they have never truly captured the might and magic that goes into his performance. Hungary for the Blues, on the other hand, smells of hard-rocking sweat before you ever open the jewel case. ~ Dave Thompson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. I Don't Want to Sing the Blues No More - 4:03
  2. 2. Lonesome Road - 6:26
  3. 3. Stormy Monday - 8:09
  4. 4. All or Nothing - 4:43
  5. 5. Tough on Me, Tough on You - 7:33
  6. 6. Shaky Ground - 7:45
  7. 7. Guitar Don't Lie - 7:26
  8. 8. I Think It's Gonna Rain Today - 2:47
  9. 9. Easy as That - 5:16
  10. 10. Out of Time - 5:39
  11. 11. Who's Been Sleeping in My Bed - 4:40
  12. 12. Miss You Fever - 7:39
  13. 13. Handbags and Gladrags - 7:46
  14. 14. Rock and Roll Soldier - 7:59

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews