fye.000000400098616341 Used
$0.84 $0.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400098616341


    Introducing Flying Fish

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text 1992's AS SEEN ON NO TELEVISION introduces Chris Chandler, an aggressive, almost combative folk-punk performer who can trace his lineage back to the biting satire of earlier artists like the Dead Kennedys' Jello Biafra, British punk poet John Cooper Clarke, and outspoken folkie Phil Ochs. All the big topics are covered here, including politics ("Republican Woodstock," "Watergate Generation"), abortion ("Embryonic Citizenship"), and cultural imperialism ("Whole Wheat Left," "FM Revisited"), each of them examined with scathing wit, provocative ideas, and a subtle sense of compassion that tempers the outrage. Though a variety of backing musicians are credited on instruments as varied as harp, fiddle and congas, the overall feel of AS SEEN ON NO TELEVISION is bare-bones. Chandler's rough voice, which is given to spoken delivery as much as it is to song, and basic guitar are always front and center, giving the songs a folkish intimacy even at their most abrasive.

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Republican Woodstock - 5:39
  2. 2. Embryonic Citizenship - 5:36
  3. 3. She's So Mundane - 3:23
  4. 4. FM Revisited - 5:29
  5. 5. Whole Wheat Left - 4:28
  6. 6. Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Abyss #98.61/2 - 4:36
  7. 7. Watergate Generation - 4:11
  8. 8. Unbound - 4:34
  9. 9. Fast Food Confederacy - 4:37
  10. 10. Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Abyass #3.2 - 4:53
  11. 11. Travels With Charlie - 5:47
  12. 12. Ballad of Bob Sheldon - 4:59

Customer Reviews