Prisoner's Dream


aec.bfy15581.2 9/14/06 New
$15.74 $20.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.bfy15581.2


    Prisoner's Dream Bear Family Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Charles Lee Guy, III was convicted of involuntary manslaughter at 16 and spent his years in prison practicing singing and playing guitar. He sent an unsolicited demo to Capitol Records, and producer Ken Nelson, sensing a potentially lucrative gimmick, signed Guy. His sole album, The Prisoner's Dream, was recorded in a prison auditorium with Joe Maphis on acoustic guitar. The cover illustration depicts Guy strumming his guitar behind prison bars, and nearly all of the selections are prison songs. Spade Cooley, who was in prison at the time for killing his wife, contributed an original composition, "Cold Gray Bars," but most of the songs are well-known ones like "Folsom Prison," "The Prisoner's Song," and "Cigarettes, Whiskey and Wild, Wild Women." Guy is a competent but unremarkable vocalist who performs the songs with only Maphis' acoustic guitar for accompaniment. Nelson's liner notes describe at length the circumstances surrounding the recordings and blow some hot air about rehabilitation and providing an opportunity for a gifted inmate, but it is likely that Guy would have preferred to be a regular country singer than a prisoner on parade. Regardless, The Prisoner's Dream is an interesting predecessor to Johnny Cash's prison albums and an unusual entry in the annals of Capitol country. ~ Greg Adams

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. There Goes a Lonely Man
  2. 2. This Ole Dog
  3. 3. You Just Don't Know Your Man
  4. 4. Rich Man's Gold
  5. 5. Unhappy People
  6. 6. Prisoner's Dream
  7. 7. Shackles and Chains
  8. 8. They're All Goin' Home But One
  9. 9. Wall
  10. 10. Twenty One Years
  11. 11. Folsom Prison Blues
  12. 12. Prisoner's Song
  13. 13. Cigareets, Whuskey and Wild, Wild Women
  14. 14. Send a Picture of Mother
  15. 15. Cold Gray Bars
  16. 16. Wishin' She Was Here (Instead of Me)
  17. 17. Doin' My Time

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews