Camouflage - Voices & Images


aec.burb303.2 10/19/18 New
ID: aec.burb303.2


    Voices & Images (2 Pk) Bureau B
    1. Voices & Images (2 Pk) Bureau B
    2. Voices & Images (Ger) Metronome

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is available for pre-order
Release Date: 10/19/2018


Review Text When it was played on modern rock radio stations in 1988, Camouflage had everybody duped with "The Great Commandment." With its chilly synths, robotic percussion, and gloomy vocals, the song was a Depeche Mode doppelganger. Similarly, Camouflage's debut album Voices & Images is the sound of young men who couldn't stop playing Depeche Mode's Black Celebration in their tape decks. However, they are somewhat talented plagiarists. The icy, computerized rhythms in the anti-racism track "Neighbours" and "Helpless Helpless" have toe-tapping appeal, and "Winner Takes Nothing" regurgitates Duran Duran as new romantic cyborgs with Marcus Meyn's Simon Le Bon-esque singing. Meyn enunciates every word in his songs with a heavy seriousness, as if lyrics such as "we had fun while we played/hide and seek" have profound meaning. The dancey synthesizers of keyboardists/programmers Heiko Maile and Oliver Kreyssig Xerox the eerily seductive high-tech boogie of mid-'80s Depeche Mode, but they're nowhere near as inventive or edgy. Voices & Images should've been an EP. Once the sixth track, "Winner Takes Nothing," is finished, Camouflage's Depeche Mode infatuation loses its novelty. ~ Michael Sutton

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. That Smiling Face
  2. 2. Helpless Helpless
  3. 3. Neighbours
  4. 4. Great Commandment
  5. 5. Winner Takes Nothing
  6. 6. Stranger's Thoughts
  7. 7. From Ay to Bee
  8. 8. Where Has the Childhood Gone
  9. 9. Music for Ballerinas
  10. 10. I Once Had a Dream
  11. 11. They Catch Secrets
  12. 12. Pompeji

CD: 2

  1. 13. Great Commandment [Extended Dance Mix]
  2. 14. Great Commandment [Extended Radio Mix]
  3. 15. Pompeji
  4. 16. Stranger's Thoughts Longer
  5. 17. They Catch More Secrets
  6. 18. Zwischenspiel
  7. 19. Neighbours [Extended Version]
  8. 20. Every Now and Then
  9. 21. That Smiling Face [German Band Version]
  10. 22. Great Commandment [US 12" Mix]
  11. 23. Great Commandment [US Dub Mix 2018 Edit]
  12. 24. Great Commandment [Justin Strauss Remix]
  13. 25. Great Commandment [Acid Commandment 2018 Edit]
  14. 26. That Smiling Face [Justin Strauss Radio Version]
  15. 27. That Smiling Face [Justin Strauss Remix]

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews