Nine Lives 0290


fye.000000400027445899 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400027445899


    Nine Lives 0290 Warner Bros.
    1. Nine Lives 0290 Warner Bros.
    2. Nine Lives 1001 Warner Bros. / Rhino
    3. Nine Lives (Original 1115 Friday Music

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Bonnie Raitt's ninth and final album for Warner Bros. Records was a star-crossed affair that began in 1983 in a session with producer Rob Fraboni, and was a typical Raitt mixture of different genres and songwriters, from Jerry Lynn Williams ("Excited") and Eric Kaz ("Angel") to reggae star Toots Hibbert ("True Love Is Hard to Find") in a style similar to her 1982 album Green Light. This record seems to have been rejected by Warner, but three years later Raitt returned to the studio with Bill Payne (Little Feat) and George Massenburg and cut a group of commercial-sounding songs by the likes of Bryan Adams and Tom Snow. Nine Lives splits the difference between the two sessions, with four tracks rescued from 1983, and five added from 1986, plus the theme from a forgotten Farrah Fawcett movie ("Stand Up to the Night" from Extremities). The result is predictably scattered and strained, and it was Raitt's lowest-charting album since her debut. Not surprisingly, it was also the last straw in her relationship with Warner. ~ William Ruhlmann

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. No Way to Treat a Lady - 4:51
  2. 2. Runnin' Back to Me - 4:14
  3. 3. Who but a Fool (Thief into Paradise) - 4:26
  4. 4. Crime of Passion - 4:20
  5. 5. All Day, All Night - 4:03
  6. 6. Stand Up to the Night - 5:43
  7. 7. Excited - 3:12
  8. 8. Freezin' (For a Little Human Love) - 5:58
  9. 9. True Love Is Hard to Find - 5:34
  10. 10. Angel - 4:00

Customer Reviews