Shang A Lang (Ger)


rovi.MR0001884586 12/28/99 Used

Product Promotions

20% off sitewide with $25 purchase (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001884586


    Shang A Lang (Ger) BMG / BMG International

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text A mid-price overview of the Bay City Rollers' German singles output -- which is not, in fairness, all that different to their output elsewhere around the world, but does throw up a few odd anomalies. Was "It's a Game" really their greatest hit in that country (number four in May 1977)? Did "Shang a Lang" truly bottom out at number 41? And did anybody seriously believe that "Strangers in the Wind" had a hope? A full account of the band's German hits is already available on the Starke Zeiten collection; sensibly, this set duplicates just seven of that album's highlights, heading off instead into the untapped pastures of the group's B-sides and the occasional album cut. A masterful version of Eric Carmen's "Let's Pretend" was a genuine highlight of Dedication, while "Marlena" was always far too delightful to truly merit an obscure berth on the back of "Saturday Night." David Bowie's "Rebel Rebel," wryly produced by Station to Station overseer Harry Maslin, is another welcome inclusion, but other souvenirs of the band's desperate dog days are less appealing. There are, indeed, a lot better ways of getting your Rollers fix than this. ~ Dave Thompson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. I Only Want to Be With You - 4:38
  2. 2. Give a Little Love - 3:13
  3. 3. Dance, Dance, Dance - 4:35
  4. 4. Saturday Night - 4:56
  5. 5. Back on the Street - 3:58
  6. 6. Shang a Lang - 3:05
  7. 7. You Made Me Believe in Magic - 3:06
  8. 8. Rebel Rebel - 3:44
  9. 9. Be My Baby - 4:39
  10. 10. It's a Game - 3:27
  11. 11. Money Honey - 3:00
  12. 12. Let's Pretend - 3:19
  13. 13. Another Rainy Day in New York - 3:28
  14. 14. Strangers in the Wind - 4:44
  15. 15. Way I Feel Tonight - 4:27
  16. 16. Marlene - 3:56

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews