aec.acbt702.2 11/6/03 New
$9.71 $12.95

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.acbt702.2


    Rollerworld Acrobat Music

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text In Britain, Bay City Rollers reigned supreme for something less than two years, and in America, they were tops for a little more than one. Only in Japan did their fame sustain for anything more than a couple of blinks of an eye and, by 1977 -- just three years after "Shang a Lang" topped charts around the world -- that land remained the Rollers' last stronghold. But what a stronghold it was, repository of some of the wildest hysteria in the entire Rollerworld. Hence the title of this collection; hence the unrelenting undulation of screaming and joy that forms a backdrop to the main attraction. Rollerworld is the Rollers' first and only live album, but it lacks the band's greatest hits. "It's a Game," the last of the Rollers' even vaguely memorable 45s, opens a show that has Serious Musicians stamped all over it. The surviving handful of "oldies" are, without exception, the ones that have a degree of classic class stamped on them. "Wouldn't You Like It" and a triumphantly stamp-along "Saturday Night" alone hail from the days of true tartan terrorism; "Rock 'n' Roll Love Letter" and "Yesterday's Heroes" represent the Dedication album; and "Money Honey" and "I Only Wanna Be with You" are the only prime-era hits. There's also a sterling version of David Bowie's "Rebel Rebel," spiraling out with even more aplomb than its studio counterpart. ~ Dave Thompson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Intro - 4:28
  2. 2. It's a Game - 3:09
  3. 3. Rock 'N' Roll Love Letter - 3:58
  4. 4. Yesterday's Hero - 4:02
  5. 5. Love Fever - 4:07
  6. 6. Don't Stop the Music - 3:06
  7. 7. Eagles Fly - 4:55
  8. 8. Rebel Rebel - 4:35
  9. 9. I Only Wanna Be with You - 4:44
  10. 10. Dance, Dance, Dance - 4:45
  11. 11. Don't Let the Music Die - 6:26
  12. 12. You Made Me Believe in Magic - 3:54
  13. 13. Wouldn't You Like It? - 3:28
  14. 14. Money Honey - 3:25
  15. 15. You're a Woman - 4:05
  16. 16. Saturday Night - 4:26

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews