Battle Studies (Bonus Dvd) (Dlx) (Exp) (Bril)



Product Promotions

20% off any 1 item

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.sny777312.2


    Battle Studies (Bonus Dvd) (Dlx) (Exp) (Bril) Columbia / Columbia Records / Sony Music Entertainment
    1. Battle Studies (Gold Series) (Aus)
    2. Battle Studies: Expanded Edition (Uk) Columbia
    3. Battle Studies BMG / Sony BMG
    4. Battle Studies (Bonus Dvd) (Dlx) (Exp) (Bril) Columbia / Columbia Records / Sony Music Entertainment

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text It’s no secret that John Mayer is a 21st Century Fox, wining and dining women all through tabloid headlines, so it’s about time he delivered an album that traded upon his loverman persona -- and Battle Studies is that record in spades. Retaining more than a modicum of the slick, soul-blues undertones of Continuum, Mayer fashions a modern groove album, a record that maintains a smooth seductive vibe so thoroughly it spills into a one-man band cover of “Crossroads.” Mayer remains somewhat of a disciple of Slowhand, but he shows an unusual interest in the big AOR stylings of Journeyman, along with Stevie Ray Vaughan’s In Step, creating a coolly clean blend of synths and Strats, one that’s as much about texture as it is about song…something perfectly appropriate for a make-out album like this. Sometimes, Mayer dips too heavily toward the texture, but he can’t resist a good, tight melody and builds the bulk of Battle Studies upon them: the elegant “Half of My Heart,” the softly soulful “Perfectly Lonely.” Here, Mayer is effortlessly seductive and somewhat irresistible, and it’s easy to see why the ladies love cool John. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Heartbreak Warfare - 4:29
  2. 2. All We Ever Do is Say Goodbye - 5:35
  3. 3. Half of My Heart - 4:10
  4. 4. Who Says - 3:55
  5. 5. Perfectly Lonely - 4:28
  6. 6. Assassin - 5:14
  7. 7. Crossroads - 2:29
  8. 8. War of My Life - 4:15
  9. 9. Edge of Desire - 6:32
  10. 10. Do You Know Me - 3:30
  11. 11. Friends, Lovers or Nothing - 6:59

CD: 2

  1. 12. No Such Thing [VH1 Storytellers]
  2. 13. Daughters [VH1 Storytellers]
  3. 14. Heartbreak Warfare [VH1 Storytellers]
  4. 15. Your Body Is a Wonderland [VH1 Storytellers]
  5. 16. Who Says [VH1 Storytellers]
  6. 17. Waiting on the World to Change [VH1 Storytellers Version]
  7. 18. Half of My Heart [A Trip to Japan Alone]
  8. 19. Who Says [A Trip to Japan Alone]

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products