Battle Of Los Angeles



Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.sny69630.2


    Battle Of Los Angeles Epic
    1. Battle Of Los Angeles (Gold Series) (Aus)
    2. Battle Of Los Angeles (Ger) Epic
    3. Battle Of Los Angeles Epic
    4. Battle Of Los Angeles (Bonus Track) Sony Music Distribution

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Rage Against the Machine isn't really the only metal band that matters, but their aggressive social and political activism is refreshing, especially in an age of blind (or usually self-directed) rage due to groups like Limp Bizkit, Bush, or Nine Inch Nails. Recorded in less than a month, The Battle of Los Angeles is the most focused album of the band's career, exploding from the gate and rarely letting go the whole way through. Like a few other famous revolution-in-the-head bands (most notably Minor Threat), Rage Against the Machine has always been blessed by the fact that the band is spewing just as much vitriol as its frontman. Any potential problems created here by Zack de la Rocha's one-note delivery and extremist polemics are smoothed over by songs and grooves that make it sound like the revolution really is here, from the single "Guerrilla Radio" to album highlights like "Mic Check," "Calm Like a Bomb," and "Born of a Broken Man." As on the previous two Rage Against the Machine albums, Tom Morello's roster of guitar effects and vicious riffs are nigh overpowering, and are as contagious as the band has ever been since their debut. De la Rocha is best when he has specific targets (like the government or the case against Mumia Abu Jamal), but when he attempts to cover more general societal problems, he falters. If anything less than one of the most talented and fiery bands in the music world were backing him, The Battle of Los Angeles wouldn't be nearly as high-rated as it is. ~ John Bush

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Testify - 4:30
  2. 2. Guerrilla Radio - 3:26
  3. 3. Calm Like a Bomb - 5:58
  4. 4. Mic Check - 4:33
  5. 5. Sleep Now in the Fire - 3:25
  6. 6. Born of a Broken Man - 5:40
  7. 7. Born as Ghosts - 3:22
  8. 8. Maria - 4:48
  9. 9. Voice of the Voiceless - 3:31
  10. 10. New Millennium Homes - 4:44
  11. 11. Ashes in the Fall - 5:37
  12. 12. War Within a Breath - 4:36

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products