Pop Life


aec.ccl6514.2 6/22/04 New

Product Promotions

20% off new CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.ccl6514.2


    Pop Life Collectables
    1. Pop Life Collectables
    2. Pop Life (Coll) (Uk) London / London Music Stream

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take up to 8 weeks to ship.


Review Text Despite the title, the sole Bananarama album to feature Siobhan Fahey's replacement, Jacquie O'Sullivan, is the vocal trio's decisive break from pop music into Hi-NRG dance. Recorded with a variety of writer/producers ranging all the way back to their original mentor, Steve Jolley (also including Stock-Aitken-Waterman, the architects of their biggest hits, and former Killing Joke bassist Youth, for alt-dance cred), the songs are united by their emphasis on MIDI synthesizers and canned beats. Lacking their most distinctive vocalist (the competent but colorless O'Sullivan was no match for Fahey's occasionally off-key yelp), the trio sounds utterly anonymous, like session singers on their own album. More to the point, whoever suggested that the Doobie Brothers' stoner rock anthem "Long Train Running" was a suitable vehicle for an electronic dance-pop remake should be punished. Severely. That said, the acid house-tinged single "Tripping on Your Love" is actually pretty good. ~ Stewart Mason

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Preacher Man - 3:15
  2. 2. Long Train Running - 4:31
  3. 3. Only Your Love - 4:58
  4. 4. What Colour R the Skies Where U Live - 4:27
  5. 5. Is Your Love Strong Enough - 5:07
  6. 6. Tripping on Your Love - 3:20
  7. 7. Ain't No Cure - 3:27
  8. 8. Outta Sight - 5:31
  9. 9. Megalomaniac - 6:16
  10. 10. I Can't Let You Go - 6:10
  11. 11. Heartless - 3:22
  12. 12. Preacher Man - 8:31

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews