Automatic For The People



Product Promotions

20% off any 1 item

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.coj45055.2


    Automatic For The People Warner Bros.
    1. Automatic For The People Warner Bros.
    2. Automatic For The People (25 Th Anniversary) (Aniv) Craft Recordings / Universal / Universal Music
    3. Automatic For The People (25 Th Anniversary) (Wbr) Craft Recordings / Universal

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Turning away from the sweet pop of Out of Time, R.E.M. created a haunting, melancholy masterpiece with Automatic for the People. At its core, the album is a collection of folk songs about aging, death, and loss, but the music has a grand, epic sweep provided by layers of lush strings, interweaving acoustic instruments, and shimmering keyboards. Automatic for the People captures the group at a crossroads, as they moved from cult heroes to elder statesmen, and the album is a graceful transition into their new status. It is a reflective album, with frank discussions on mortality, but it is not a despairing record -- "Nightswimming," "Everybody Hurts," and "Sweetness Follows" have a comforting melancholy, while "Find the River" provides a positive sense of closure. R.E.M. have never been as emotionally direct as they are on Automatic for the People, nor have they ever created music quite as rich and timeless, and while the record is not an easy listen, it is the most rewarding record in their oeuvre. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Drive - 5:30
  2. 2. Try Not to Breathe - 4:49
  3. 3. Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite - 4:06
  4. 4. Everybody Hurts - 5:17
  5. 5. Sweetness Follows - 4:19
  6. 6. Monty Got a Raw Deal - 3:16
  7. 7. Star Me Kitten - 3:15
  8. 8. New Orleans Instrumental No. 1 - 2:12
  9. 9. Man on the Moon - 5:12
  10. 10. Nightswimming - 4:16
  11. 11. Find the River - 4:49
  12. 12. Ignoreland - 4:24

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products