Christmas Memories 810


fye.000000400298614086 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400298614086


    Christmas Memories 810 Elevation Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Irish vocal ensemble Anúna was founded by Michael McGlynn in 1987 and has gone on to flourish in a variety of settings and genres, including a featured role in the soundtrack of Riverdance; work with Elvis Costello, Sting, Sinéad O'Connor, and the Chieftains, and performances of traditional Celtic music and contemporary classical repertoire. The group's Christmas album is based on a stage show, Christmas Memories, produced by Maryland Public Television, and the slick production values highlight the ensemble at its glitziest and least subtle. McGlynn's arrangements are intriguingly unconventional in their avoidance of traditional harmonizations, and are often effective, but some of the songs sound so overproduced that such niceties get overwhelmed. The most persuasive songs are the ones presented most simply, many of which are a cappella or have the most circumspect accompaniment: "The First Noël," "O Holy Night," "Noël Nouvelet," "Gaudete," and McGlynn's own "Angels Are Singing," and his especially lovely "Codail a Linbh." On these tracks it's possible to recognize the first-rate choral ensemble known for the purity and soulfulness of its singing. Many of the songs feature soloists, all of whom have pleasant, natural voices, with the ensemble singing backup. There are enough warmly satisfying performances here to make it worth it for fans of the group to skip over the gaudier moments and enjoy the simpler tracks. ~ Stephen Eddins

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Ding Dong! Merrily on High (French) - 3:48
  2. 2. White Christmas, song (from "Holiday Inn") - 3:16
  3. 3. Jingle Bells - 2:47
  4. 4. First Noël (English) - 4:43
  5. 5. Angels Are Singing, song - 3:30
  6. 6. Christmas Kisses, song - 3:09
  7. 7. Cantique de Noël for voice & orchestra "O Holy Night" - 3:18
  8. 8. O Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste fidelis) - 3:55
  9. 9. Christmas Memories, song - 4:54
  10. 10. Noël nouvelet, carol (French) - 3:56
  11. 11. Codail a Linbh (Sleep Peacefully, My Child), song - 3:43
  12. 12. Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Silent Night) - 3:25
  13. 13. Gaudete (Swedish) - 2:12
  14. 14. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (for the film Meet Me in St. Louis) - 3:08

Customer Reviews