Another Side Of This Life



Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.suz11092.2


    Another Side Of This Life Sundazed

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text The 18 previously unreleased, solo acoustic performances on this collection were recorded between March 1965 and December 1966. These show Parsons not as a country singer, rock singer, or even folk-rock singer, but very much as a mid-'60s folkie, in the mold of so many artists to be heard in the Greenwich Village scene. There's no straight country music in his repertoire, comprised largely of covers of songs by then-contemporary writers such as Buffy Sainte-Marie ("Codine"), Tim Hardin, Tom Paxton, and Fred Neil, along with high-caliber compositions that would be popularized by rock groups (Billy Wheeler's "High Flyin' Bird" and Hamilton Camp's "Pride of Man"). There are also five Parsons originals, a few not available elsewhere, and others recorded at other points either by himself ("Brass Buttons" and "Zah's Blues") or different performers ("November Nights," placed on an obscure single by Peter Fonda). A bit of R&B pokes out in his covers of "Searchin'" and "Candy Man." This disc is definitely of historical interest, if only to demonstrate that Parsons' roots were certainly not country-soaked, but largely indebted to '60s folk as well. As music, it's very average (though certainly not bad) mid-'60s folk, of the kind you might hear by numerous coffeehouse support acts. He sings best on the jazzy "Zah's Blues," where he seems to reach further into himself than he does on most of the other material here. ~ Richie Unterberger

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Codine - 6:37
  2. 2. Wheel of Fortune - 2:29
  3. 3. Another Side of This Life - 3:40
  4. 4. High Flyin' Bird - 4:49
  5. 5. November Nights - 4:38
  6. 6. Zah's Blues - 4:02
  7. 7. Reputation - 3:09
  8. 8. That's the Bag I'm In - 3:14
  9. 9. Willie Jean - 4:08
  10. 10. They Still Go Down - 2:26
  11. 11. Pride of Man - 3:45
  12. 12. Last Thing on My Mind - 4:44
  13. 13. Hey Nellie Nellie - 3:04
  14. 14. She's the Woman I Love/Good Time Music - 5:58
  15. 15. Brass Buttons - 2:25
  16. 16. I Just Can't Take It Anymore - 3:29
  17. 17. Searchin' - 4:32
  18. 18. Candy Man - 3:17

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products