Sacred Arias


aec.phl462600.2 11/9/99 New
$10.46 $13.95

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.phl462600.2


    Sacred Arias Philips / PolyGram

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Sacred Arias followed Andrea Bocelli's successful mainstream effort Sogno by a matter of months -- a release strategy which suggests that he wanted to shore up his classical audience after a pop-leaning effort. That's nonsense, however. For lack of a better term, Sacred Arias is a holiday album, released in November, just in time for Christmas. For much of Bocelli's audience, given that the arias are religious songs, they are holiday songs as well -- after all, "Ave Maria," which leads off the album, is an integral part of the holiday season, and "Silent Night" and "Adeste Fideles" are also here. But Sacred Arias is more than just a holiday record. It contains other arias that aren't specifically about Christmas, plus selections like Wagner's "Der Engel," which isn't religious. Nevertheless, the album holds together fairly well, since the arrangements are of a piece, and Bocelli performs each in his signature style. He may not offer new interpretations of these standards, nor is his phrasing particularly unique, but nevertheless, he does deliver spirited performances of strong, albeit familiar, music in a way that's accessible to a wide audience. That's reason enough for fans to add this to their collection, especially as it is his first collection of arias and religious music. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Ave Maria - 4:49
  2. 3. Ave Maria, for voice & piano (after Bach's Prelude No. 1 from the Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1) - 3:01
  3. 4. Ellens Gesang III ("Ave Maria"), song for voice & piano, D. 839 (Op. 52/6) - 3:32
  4. 5. Panis angelicus for tenor, organ, harp, cello & bass - 4:32
  5. 8. Ave verum Corpus, motet for chorus, strings & organ, K. 618 - 3:05
  6. 11. Pietà, Signore! for voice & piano (or orchestra) - 7:59
  7. 13. Wiegenlied ("Schlafe, schlafe, holder süsser Knabe"), song for voice & piano ("Mille Cherubini in Coro"), D. 498 (Op. 98/2) - 4:55
  8. 14. Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Silent Night) - 3:08
  9. 15. O Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste fidelis) - 3:55
  10. 16. Gloria a te, Cristo Gesù - 4:21
  1. 2. Intermezzo - 4:37
  1. 6. Cujus animam - 6:34
  1. 7. Ingemisco - 4:10
  1. 9. No.1, Der Engel - 3:05
  1. 10. Frondi Tenere... Ombra mai fu - 4:56
  1. 12. Domine Deus - 5:37

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews