And About Time Too (Bonus Track)



Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.aisr2991082.2


    And About Time Too (Bonus Track) Hear No Evil
    1. And About Time Too (Bonus Track) Hear No Evil
    2. And About Time Too (Bonus Track) (Jpn) Avex/Bareknuckle

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text Bernie Marsden was well into a recording career when he struck out on his own for 1979's And About Time Too, which may explain the album's joking title. At the time, Marsden was playing guitar in Whitesnake, following years with UFO, Wild Turkey, Cozy Powell's Hammer, and Babe Ruth, among others, so he had a significant résumé, all suggesting that he was ready for a spot of heavy rocking, but And About Time Too is much softer than his past or present, a slick and phased collection of '70s album pop and rock featuring such impressive players as Powell, Jack Bruce, Ian Paice, and Jon Lord. Again, all this suggests a harder record than what And About Time Too actually is. Certainly, much of its appeal is down to its period stylings, particularly when he indulges himself on a piece of sprightly pop like "Love Made a Fool of Me" or "Sad Clown" -- songs that could've crossed over from album rock to adult contemporary -- and these tunes are strong enough that they make such heavy blues workouts as the grinding "Brief Encounter" and the woozy, solo-laden closer "Head the Ball" feel like detours even when they're much closer to Marsden's main line of work. Other remnants of the time, such as the heavy layers of analog synths from Don Airey and the long stretches of instrumental pyrotechnics, keep this somewhat at a remove from modern listeners, but it is those aforementioned poppier numbers that do make this worth a spin; they may not capture Marsden at his most representative but they may capture him at his best. [Cherry Red's 2013 reissue contains the single B-side "You & Me," a pretty good arena rocker.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. You're the One - 4:57
  2. 2. Song For Fran - 3:50
  3. 3. Love Made a Fool of Me - 4:44
  4. 4. Here We Go Again - 3:28
  5. 5. Still the Same - 6:23
  6. 6. Sad Clown - 5:10
  7. 7. Brief Encounter - 4:23
  8. 8. Are You Ready - 4:35
  9. 9. Head the Ball - 5:26
  10. 10. You and Me - 3:50

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products