Anastasia / O.S.T.



Product Promotions

20% off new CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.atl83053.2


    Anastasia / O.S.T. Atlantic

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Since Anastasia is animator Don Bluth's attempt at a sweeping epic along the lines of Disney's Beauty and the Beast or The Hunchback of Notre Dame, it's not surprising that its score duplicates the Disney formula of balancing big show tunes from the film with re-recorded MOR pop versions of the same song. In this case, it's Aaliyah singing "Journey to the Past," and Deana Carter's cover of "Once Upon a December," and the Donna Lewis and Richard Marx duet on "At the Beginning" -- fine versions of fine songs that sound better in their original incarnation (also included on the disc). Fortunately, the bulk of the album is comprised of selections from the soundtrack. Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty have written the songs for Anastasia, and their work is generally quite good; occasionally the lyrics are silly ("Rumor in St. Petersburg"), but perhaps that should be expected, given the difficulty of making the story of Anastasia into an animated musical. On the whole, Anastasia might not live up to the high standards that The Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast set, but it's as good as Pocahontas and The Hunchback of Notre Dame, and that's not bad company at all. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Rumor in St. Petersburg - 3:25
  2. 2. Journey to the Past - 3:55
  3. 3. Once upon a December - 3:48
  4. 4. In the Dark of the Night - 3:21
  5. 5. Learn to Do It - 3:36
  6. 6. Learn to Do It - 2:45
  7. 7. Paris Holds the Key (To Your Heart) - 3:02
  8. 8. At the Beginning - 4:40
  9. 9. Journey to the Past - 4:04
  10. 10. Once upon a December - 4:34
  11. 11. Prologue - 6:23
  12. 12. Speaking of Sophie - 3:36
  13. 13. Nightmare - 3:05
  14. 14. Kidnap and Reunion - 4:29
  15. 15. Reminiscing with Grandma - 3:17
  16. 16. Finale - 3:59
  17. 17. Viaje Tiempo Atrás (Journey to the Past) - 3:07

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews