Empire 0206


rovi.MR0000436141 2/7/06 Used
$1.70 $2.00

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000436141


    Empire 0206 Sickroom

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Fusing the indie rock elements of Arcade Fire with the fragmented folk of Animal Collective, Austin-based eight-piece AM Syndicate have concocted an intriguing, artful album with Empire. Boasting members of Rhythm of Black Lines, Knife in the Water, the Rise, and ...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, the disc opens with a vignette that begets "Kicking a Sailor in the Teeth," a successful, violin-laden prog rock experiment. Commercial allure be damned, AM Syndicate hardly seem concerned with song structure, as evidenced by the Eastern vibe of "Textura Aspero" and the disc's offbeat opus, "Ode to the Office Goat." Challenging listeners with the chant-heavy waltz "Those Who Wave Flags" -- where vocalist Omar Demian Chavez looks to "wash away the blood from these hands" -- the band's disdain for the land of the free carries over into the punkish "Democracy or the World" with interesting results. ~ John D. Luerssen

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Blind Pedestrian Crossing - 2:50
  2. 2. Kicking a Sailor in the Teeth - 5:22
  3. 3. Hear! Hear! - 4:09
  4. 4. Textura Aspero - 6:09
  5. 5. Obey Thou Trembling Creature - 3:44
  6. 6. Ode to the Office Goat - 6:37
  7. 7. Those Who Wave Flags - 2:12
  8. 8. Democracy for the World - 8:38
  9. 9. Love Dumpster - 2:21

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews