Mood Pieces (Hol)


aec.imt5025957.2 9/22/98 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.imt5025957.2


    Mood Pieces (Hol) Massmen Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text Originally slated to be released on the Beastie Boys Grand Royal imprint in 1996, Mood Pieces was put on the back burner by Capitol and didn't see the light of day until Ocean Floor released it in 1998. Featuring the combination of Abstract Rude on vocals and Fat Jack on production, Abstract Tribe Unique presents ambient hip-hop at its finest. "Blast Off into Infinity" sets the example with Abstract Rude's concise, sing-song verses perfectly matching the "spiritual vibe" put forth by Fat Jack. The group's affinity for sparse audio landscapes is further illustrated on tracks including "Switch the Station," "Rapcha," and "Left Hand Side." Meanwhile, the futuristic sounds of "My Experience" indeed have the potential to travel "out of your body, into your mind, over your walls, beyond your time." Furthermore Abstract Rude also makes it a point to engage in supreme battle mode with a pair of scathing songs titled "Ooh I'm a Getcha" and "Torn." Dedicating their love for their art on "Something About This Music," Abstract Tribe Unique does as good a job as anyone in hip-hop when it comes to stretching into the stylistic realms of soul and reggae. While Mood Pieces may never receive the recognition that it deserves beyond underground circles, it stands as an important album that not only pre-dates the neo-soul movement but also represents the more sensitive side of Project Blowed. ~ Robert Gabriel

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Fat and AB Intro - 2:34
  2. 2. Blast off into Infinity - 5:04
  3. 3. I'm from a Wicked - 5:52
  4. 4. Zulu Inter. - 1:32
  5. 5. Switch the Station - 3:10
  6. 6. Rolling in My Car - 5:56
  7. 7. Rapcha' - 4:03
  8. 8. Ghetto Children Inter. - 0:19
  9. 9. 215 Inter. - 0:13
  10. 10. Left Hand Side - 6:52
  11. 11. My Experience Is... - 4:37
  12. 12. Ooh I'm a Getcha' - 4:54
  13. 13. Contradictshun - 3:24
  14. 14. Inside Your Eyes - 5:29
  15. 15. Torn - 4:20
  16. 16. Somethin' About This Music - 4:53
  17. 17. Eve Inter. - 2:18
  18. 18. We're Serious Outro

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews