Homesick (Bonus Tracks) (Reis)


aec.vcr541.2 10/26/09 New
$11.88 $13.98

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.vcr541.2


    Homesick (Bonus Tracks) (Reis) Victory Records
    1. Homesick (Bonus Tracks) (Reis) Victory Records
    2. Homesick (Bonus Dvd) (Bonus Tracks) (Dlx) (Reis) Victory Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Ocala, FL-based post-hardcore outfit A Day to Remember's third full-length offering opens with the blistering "The Downfall of Us All," a hugely melodic slice of metal-infused punk-pop bliss that's sure to land a second life in countless montages on MTV reality shows and 30-second cola commercials. What follows is a collection of perfectly executed and fairly standard clean vocal post-hardcore emo-pop that both revels in and illuminates the limitations of the genre. While lead singer Jeremy McKinnon fulfills his duty as a clean/screamo switch-hitter throughout Homesick, the incessant group vocals provide the thread from which the album was designed. Exciting at first, the constant "yeahs" and "heys" eventually dissolve into the waves of distortion mid-album, resulting in the audio equivalent of an energy drink crash. The band does its best to juggle both worlds on the pretty, simplistic, and anthemic "Have Faith in Me," and closer "If It Means a Lot to You" provides fans with a fine Bic lighter/cell phone light moment, but there's just not enough here to separate it from the deafening, ultimately forgettable, over-compressed slabs of twentysomething angst that came before it. ~ James Christopher Monger

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Downfall of Us All - 3:29
  2. 2. My Life for Hire - 4:33
  3. 3. I'm Made of Wax, Larry, What Are You Made Of? - 3:00
  4. 4. NJ Legion Iced Tea - 4:31
  5. 5. Mr. Highway's Thinking About the End - 4:15
  6. 6. Have Faith in Me - 3:08
  7. 7. Welcome to the Family - 3:59
  8. 8. Homesick - 4:56
  9. 9. Holdin' It Down for the Underground - 3:23
  10. 10. You Already Know What You Are - 1:27
  11. 11. Another Song About the Weekend - 4:45
  12. 12. If It Means a Lot to You - 4:03
  13. 13. Homesick - 4:07
  14. 14. Another Song About the Weekend - 4:42

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews