Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Jerry Garcia / David Grisman / Tony Rice

Pizza Tapes

Format: CD   Release Date: 04/25/2000
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Reg. Price: $15.99
On Sale: $13.98

Member Price: $12.58

add to wishlist

Buy Used

Reg. Price: $9.99

Member Price: $8.99

add to wishlist

    Track Title


  1. Appetizer :13
  2. Man of Constant Sorrow 5:06
  3. Appetizer :29
  4. Louis Collins 5:57
  5. Shady Jam 3:41
  6. Shady Grove 4:45
  7. Always Late :54
  8. Guitar Space/Summertime 8:41
  9. Appetizer :26
  10. Long Black Veil 4:30
  11. Rosa Lee Mcfall 3:12
  12. Appetizer 1:13
  13. Drifting Too Far from the Shore 4:54
  14. Amazing Grace 4:54
  15. Little Sadie 3:13
  16. Knockin' on Heaven's Door 5:47
  17. Space Jam :59
  18. So What 6:28
  19. Appetizer :22
  20. House of the Rising Sun 8:05

Jerry Garcia and David Grisman released two albums on the latter's Acoustic Disc label during the last years of Garcia's life, and since his death in 1995, Grisman has culled a series of albums from other sessions the two recorded together. Shady Grove (1996) presented traditional folk and country material, while So What (1998) contained jazz compositions. The Pizza Tapes (so named because Garcia' s cassette of the sessions supposedly was stolen by a pizza delivery boy and circulated clandestinely) chronicles two nights worth of sessions that Garcia and Grisman shared with guitarist Tony Rice. The Grisman albums with Garcia have become increasingly informal as he has delved into picking dates that may have been intended as rehearsals or just get-togethers, and The Pizza Tapes carries that trend further. There's lots of conversation (delineated by the five "Appetizer" titles), along with false starts, mistakes, and fragments of songs, and there is some repetition of tunes (though not performances) from previous albums. "Shady Grove" and "Louis Collins" from Shady Grove are here, as is "So What" from So What. But the two guitarists show a genuine rapport as they range from pop/jazz standards like "Summertime" to folk songs like "Man of Constant Sorrow" and folk-rock fare like "Knockin' on Heaven's Door." "I'm having a great time," declares Garcia enthusiastically, and his pleasure comes across. Dead Heads long ago found that Garcia was at his best away from the formal restrictions and pressures of recording, and the same thing seems to hold for the Garcia/Grisman albums. Rice, meanwhile, more than holds his own. ~ William Ruhlmann, Rovi

  • Format: CD
  • Release Date: 04/25/2000
  • Record Label: Acoustic Disc
  • UPC: 715949104121
  • Product ID: 915074
  • Genre: Country-Rock, Rock & Roll

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?