Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Original Soundtrack

Easter Parade [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] [Remastered]

Format: CD   Release Date: 05/23/1995
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Reg. Price: $13.99

Member Price: $12.59

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Reg. Price: $8.99

Member Price: $8.09

add to wishlist

    Track Title


  1. Main title (medley) 1:20
  2. Happy Easter 2:30
  3. Drum Crazy 4:01
  4. It Only Happens When I Dance With You 2:44
  5. Happy Easter (reprise No. 1) :38
  6. Everybody's Doin' It Now 1:09
  7. I Want To Go Back To Michigan (Down on the Farm) 2:35
  8. Happy Easter (reprise No. 2) 1:38
  9. Making Faces (medley) 1:24
  10. Beautiful Faces Need Beautiful Clothes 1:16
  11. This is the Life (Dog Act) 1:08
  12. Along Came Ruth 1:05
  13. Call Me Up Some Rainy Afternoon 1:30
  14. A Fella With An Umbrella 2:32
  15. Vaudeville Montage: I Love a Piano 2:00
  16. Vaudeville Montage: Snookey Ookums :57
  17. Vaudeville Montage: The Ragtime Violin :48
  18. Vaudeville Montage: When the Midnight Choo-Choo Leaves For Alabam' 1:54
  19. Mixed Greens 3:09
  20. That International Rag (Fanfare and Montage-Ziegfeld Follies) :23
  21. Shakin' the Blues Away 3:18
  22. It Only Happens When I Dance for You (reprise) 1:54
  23. Fanfare and Montage - Globe Theatre :47
  24. Steppin' Out with My Baby 6:20
  25. Mr. Monotony [outtake] 3:13
  26. A Couple of Swells 4:25
  27. Roof Garden (Drum Crazy) (reprise) 1:06
  28. The Girl on the Magazine Cover 4:10
  29. New Amsterdam Roof (It Only Happens When I Dance With You) (reprise) 2:01
  30. Better Luck Next Time 4:10
  31. Easter Parade (End Title) 2:40

This is the best soundtrack version to date of one of Irving Berlin's finest postwar musical showcases. The song "Easter Parade" went through several permutations before becoming its best-known version, appearing previously in the movie Holiday Inn long before it became the basis for Easter Parade, the MGM Technicolor musical starring Fred Astaire and Judy Garland. Astaire, in a role originally intended for Gene Kelly, has a great showcase not only for his singing and dancing but also for playing the drums (his personal hobby) in the oft-overlooked number "Drum Crazy." And he and Garland make a fine duo, despite her burgeoning problems behind the scenes in the film -- her weight goes up and down alarmingly from one scene to another. The score is a celebration of old New York, incorporating a lot of Berlin's own history. "Shakin' the Blues Away" by Ann Miller, "A Couple of Swells" by Garland and Astaire, and "I Want to Go Back to Michigan" by Garland (a song that Berlin gave to Jessie Matthews to perform in the London production of his +Music Box Review in 1925) are worth the price of this Rhino Records CD. The CD's fidelity and thorough annotation are superior to earlier soundtrack editions; anyone seriously interested in the score or the performers should opt for this. (The old MCA CD and LP releases and the MGM vinyl version are to be avoided except by completists.) ~ Bruce Eder, Rovi

  • Format: CD
  • Release Date: 05/23/1995
  • Record Label: Rhino/Warner Bros.
  • UPC: 081227196028
  • Product ID: 884239
  • Genre: Classical, Soundtracks

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?