Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Brantley Gilbert

The Devil Don't Sleep

Format: CD   Release Date: 01/27/2017
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Reg. Price: $13.99

Member Price: $12.59

add to wishlist

Buy Used

Reg. Price: $9.99

Member Price: $8.99

add to wishlist

    Track Title


  1. Rockin' Chairs 4:08
  2. The Ones That Like Me 3:25
  3. The Weekend 3:08
  4. You Could Be That Girl 3:48
  5. Smokin' Gun 3:39
  6. Bro Code 3:13
  7. It's About to Get Dirty 4:29
  8. Tried to Tell Ya 3:42
  9. In My Head 3:43
  10. Way Back 3:39
  11. Baby Be Crazy 3:31
  12. Outlaw in Me 3:28
  13. Bullet in a Bonfire 4:22
  14. The Devil Don’t Sleep 3:45
  15. We're Gonna Ride Again 4:40
  16. Three Feet of Water 3:53
  17. At Least We Thought It Was [Demo Version]
  18. I've Been There Before [Demo Version]
  19. Against the World [Demo Version]
  20. Closer Than We've Ever Been [Demo Version]
  21. You Promised [Demo Version]
  22. Read Me My Rights [Live at Red Rocks] [Live]
  23. Hell on Wheels [Live at Red Rocks] [Live]
  24. Grown Ass Man [Live at Red Rocks] [Live]
  25. Outlaw Women [Live at Red Rocks] [Live]
  26. Kick It in the Sticks [Live at Red Rocks] [Live]

Brantley Gilbert may sing about not breaking the bro code but he eagerly breaks the code of bro country. That much was apparent on Just as I Am, the 2014 album that generated the smash hit "Bottoms Up," the single that cemented Gilbert's stardom, but The Devil Don't Sleep -- the 2017 sequel to Just as I Am -- makes it plain that Gilbert intends to separate himself from his party-hearty brethren. If Gilbert sounds like anybody, it's Jason Aldean -- Brantley wrote several of Jason's hits including "Dirt Road Anthem," but the connection goes further than that; "Way Back" even has a skittish electronic beat reminiscent of "Burnin' It Down" -- but he manages to spin his grinding minor-key midtempo tunes into a place that doesn't seem morose. Pensive, sure -- Gilbert can make a weekend out partying seem like a brooding affair -- but he rarely seems dour on the bigger, bolder tunes, all of which sound like they're just on the verge of cutting loose. This reticence toward rocking accentuates how Gilbert really doesn't belong among modern country's bros. He's more of a romantic, specializing in lightly soulful slow-burners that wind up complementing his minor-key anthems. If he sometimes gets stuck in sticky sentiments, particularly when writing love songs, he nevertheless pulls himself free through sheer sturdy craft. At 16 tracks, The Devil Don't Sleep is a little bit long -- an impression exacerbated by its slow tempos -- but its individual components are strong, which means even if the album doesn't quite have momentum it's nevertheless always satisfying to sample. [The Devil Don't Sleep was also released with a second disc comprising ten bonus tracks.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

  • Format: CD
  • Release Date: 01/27/2017
  • Record Label: The Valory Music Co.
  • UPC: 843930026456
  • Product ID: 4684164
  • Genre: Country, Contemporary Country

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?