Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Life of Oharu [Criterion Collection]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 07/09/2013
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Reg. Price: $29.99
On Sale: $25.98

Member Price: $23.38

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Reg. Price: $15.99

Member Price: $14.39

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
Life of Oharu features Kinuyo Tanaka in the title role. Oharu is a middle-aged prostitute in 17th century Japan. As she prays before a statue of Buddha, Oharu reviews her past. Her road to degradation began when, as a teenager, she disgraced her family by falling in love with a samurai (Toshiro Mifune). Oharu became the mistress of a prince, who cast her off after she bore his son. She was then sold into prostitution by her father, and thus began a catch-as-catch-can existence alternating between brief happiness with those she genuinely loved and servitude to those she despised. A potential happy ending, reuniting her with her royal son, is dashed by the much-maligned Oharu herself, who opts for the life of a beggar. Directed by Kenji Mizoguchi, a lifelong advocate of equitable treatment for Japanese women, Life of Oharu was adapted from a novel by Saikaku Ibara. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Disc #1 -- The Life of Oharu

1. For Love [19:55]
2. Banishment [2:49]
3. Last Words [2:48]
4. End Of The World [2:16]
5. The Search [11:16]
6. Concubine [4:33]
7. Jealousy [6:38]
8. Heir [2:36]
9. Dismissed [5:27]
10. Big Spender [9:13]
11. Secrets [14:12]
12. Revenge [4:07]
13. A Happier Life [2:10]
14. Awful News [11:26]
15. Thief [4:00]
16. Only A Glimpse [6:52]
17. Pilgrims [10:49]
18. Memory [3:48]
19. Salvation [2:53]
20. A Brief Viewing [5:47]
21. Transcendence [2:56]
1. Color Bars [:20]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: July 09, 2013
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Studio: Criterion
  • Length: 136 minutes
  • Sound: dd1
  • Format: Black & White
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: Japanese
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 715515107419
  • Product ID: 3155387
  • Genre: Drama

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?