Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Orpheus [Criterion Collection] [2 Discs]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 08/30/2011
Buy New


Reg. Price: $29.99
On Sale: $25.98

Member Price: $23.38

add to wishlist

Buy Used < Last One

Reg. Price: $15.99

Member Price: $14.39

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
Cinematic poet Jean Cocteau explored the myth of Orpheus on no fewer than three occasions: Le Sang d'Un Poete (Blood of a Poet, 1930), Orphee (Orpheus, 1949) and Le Testament d'Orphee (1960). This second of his "Orpheus" trilogy stars Jean Marais in the title role. Updated to contemporary Paris (albeit a Paris never seen before or since), the story concerns a sensitive young poet named Orpheus, who is married to the lovely Eurydice (Marie Dea). Orpheus' friend Cegeste (Edouard Dermit) is killed in a traffic accident. In the hospital morgue, Cegeste's patroness, The Princess of Death (Maria Casares), revives the young man; then, both Cegeste and Princess pass into the Underworld. Back on earth, Orpheus receives cryptic messages from Cegeste's spirit, as well as nocturnal visitations from the Princess. Meanwhile, Orpheus' wife enters into an affair with Heurtebise (Francois Perier). After seeking advice on her mixed-up love life, Eurydice is herself struck down and killed by the same cyclist who snuffed out Cegeste's life. It appears to Heurtebise that the ghostly Princess has claimed Eurydice so that she, the Princess, can be free to love Orpheus. Heurtebise persuades Orpheus to accompany him into the Underworld in hopes of returning Eurydice to life. By now, however, Orpheus cares little for his wife; he is completely under the Princess' spell. Offered her own liberation from the Underworld by the powers-that-be, the Princess dolefullly agrees to restore Eurydice to life, and to never have anything to do with Orpheus again. Orpheus has weathered much controversy to take its place among the director's most acclaimed works. Originally released at 112 minutes, the film was whittled down to 95 minutes for its American release. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Disc #1 -- Orpheus

1. Titles/Prologue [3:16]
2. The Lion's Den [7:38]
3. Usual Route [2:51]
4. "You Are the Death" [5:17]
5. Orpheus Returns [7:49]
6. Eurydice and Heurtebise [4:11]
7. "Resting on My Laurels" [6:47]
8. Pursuit of the Princess [5:54]
9. Eurydice in Danger [7:57]
10. Mirrors Are Doors [6:23]
11. Ruins of Habits [:19]
12. Supreme Tribunal [2:51]
13. Forever [6:20]
14. Out of Sight [4:56]
15. Beware of Mirrors [6:51]
16. Sacrifice [5:01]
17. Condemnation [8:31]
18. Color Bars [2:56]
1. In His Own Hand [3:16]
2. Cocteau's Own Myth [7:38]
3. Echoes of the War [2:51]
4. "Cinématographe" [5:17]
5. The Zone [7:49]
6. Objets d'art [4:11]
7. Thirty-Eight, Thirty-Nine, Forty [6:47]
8. New Urbanization [5:54]
9. Meticulous Discipline [7:57]
10. Misogyny [6:23]
11. Saint-Cyr [:19]
12. Three Judges [2:51]
13. Guardian Angel [6:20]
14. Farce [4:56]
15. The Next Morning [6:51]
16. Rituals [5:01]
17. The Human Mire [8:31]
18. Color Bars [2:56]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: August 30, 2011
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Criterion
  • Length: 95 minutes
  • Sound: dd1
  • Format: Black & White
  • Discs: 2
  • Language: French
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 715515085519
  • Product ID: 2986826
  • Genre: Fantasy

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?