Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Taxi Blues

Format: DVD     Release Date: 01/13/2009
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Reg. Price: $14.99
On Sale: $12.98

Member Price: $11.68

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Reg. Price: $22.99

Member Price: $20.69

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
Taxi Blues is a ground-breaking Russian film, one of the first to examine the rifts between the old Soviet Union and the post-communist Russian society. The movie concerns the friendship of an independent, alcoholic Jewish jazz musician named Liocha (Piotr Nikolajevitch Mamonov) and Schlikov (Pyotr Zaitchenko) a stern, conservative cabdriver. After Liocha doesn't pay Schlikov for a fare one evening, the cab driver tracks the musician down and takes his saxophone as payment. Despite his initial treatment of Liocha, Schlikov becomes fascinated by the musician and offers him a bed in his apartment. Eventually, the two strike up a friendship and Liocha gets a job in the taxi depot in order to pay off his debt. However, their friendship turn sour when Schlikov's girlfriend becomes smitten with the musician and Liocha joins an American musician for a U.S. tour. When Liocha returns, rich and successful, he fights with his old friend, leading to a sorrowful conclusion. Taxi Blues received great critical acclaim and many awards, including director Pavel Lungin winning the Best Director award at the ~Cannes Film Festival in 1990. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Disc #1 -- Taxi Blues

1. Booze [11:25]
2. New Mentality [10:29]
3. Poster [11:37]
4. Bath [7:06]
5. Accomplice or Victim [11:32]
6. 8x12 [9:06]
7. Loud Music [15:41]
8. Forgive Me [4:46]
9. Who's Playing? [10:10]
10. Find Me, My Treasure [7:23]
11. Party [8:27]
12. End Credits [2:08]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: January 13, 2009
  • MPAA Rating:
  • Studio: Koch Lorber Films
  • Length: 110 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: rus
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 741952314592
  • Product ID: 2853694
  • Genre: Drama

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?