Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Who: At Kilburn 1977 [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 11/18/2008
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Reg. Price: $24.99
On Sale: $20.98

Member Price: $18.88

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Reg. Price: $14.99

Member Price: $13.49

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
In 1977, while Jeff Stein was compiling The Kids Are Alright, his excellent documentary on legendary British rockers the Who, the filmmaker felt he lacked strong film footage of several classic Who tunes and wanted performances that would bring the picture up to date. With this in mind, Stein arranged for the Who to play a show to be filmed for the movie, and six 35mm film cameras were on hand when the band took the stage at the State Kilburn Theatre on December 15, 1977. However, Pete Townshend was openly disappointed with the Who's show that day (even saying on camera "This wasn't f--king worth filming, Stein -- might as well send the cameramen home" midway through their set), and they shot another concert several months later that was used in the movie. However, more than three decades later the Kilburn State Theatre set has finally been made available on the DVD release The Who at Kilburn 1977. Compared to the Who's best work on film, The Who at Kilburn 1977 does capture the band on a relative off night -- Keith Moon is clearly out of shape and has trouble keeping up with the band, while John Entwistle and Roger Daltrey appear to be a bit out of practice -- but Townshend is on fire throughout the show, and this footage confirms that the Who were a powerfully exciting act even when they weren't delivering one hundred percent. The Who at Kilburn 1977 has been given a widescreen transfer to disc, letterboxed at the 1.78:1 aspect ratio on conventional televisions and enhanced for anamorphic play on 16x9 monitors. The original film elements are practically spotless and the depth and clarity of the 35mm film image is truly impressive, as is the vivid but realistic color balance. The audio (which was recorded using a 16-track mobile truck) has been mastered in three formats, Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround, and DTS 5.1 Surround. The stereo mix sounds tighter and more powerful than the 5.1 version, but either way the results are impressive and capture the force of the Who on stage with admirable accuracy. The performances are in English, with no subtitles or multiple language options. As a bonus, this package comes with a second disc featuring another show from the Who's archives -- a December 1969 performance at the London Coliseum Theater in which the band performed the recently-released rock opera ^Tommy in full along with a set of their bet known tunes. The 1969 show was filmed in 16mm by a small crew who didn't use any additional lighting; consequently, the image is often dark and grainy and at times the band is all but invisible, while the print is in rough shape and there are bits where the editors have to make do with "stylized" substitute footage when both cameramen ran out of film. But the Who are in excellent form in this bonus gig, and while the audio is sometimes boomy and distorted, it inarguably captures a more interesting concert than the one on disc one. (It's also presented in widescreen, with both stereo and surround options.) The Who at Kilburn 1977 delivers two flawed but fascinating shows from one of the greatest bands in rock history, and serious Who fans will certainly want this in their collection. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Disc #1 -- The Who at Kilburn: 1977

1. I Can't Explain [3:10]
2. Substitute [2:59]
3. Baba O'Riley [5:18]
4. My Wife [7:02]
5. Behind Blue Eyes [3:33]
6. Dreaming From the Waist [5:10]
7. Pinball Wizard [2:43]
8. I'm Free [2:45]
9. Tommy's Holiday Camp [1:30]
10. Summertime Blues [3:45]
11. Shakin' All Over [5:00]
12. My Generation [3:44]
13. Join Together [2:28]
14. Who Are You [6:04]
15. Won't Get Fooled Again [8:49]
16. End Credits [1:33]

Disc #2 -- The Who at the Coliseum: 1969

1. Heaven and Hell [4:23]
2. I Can't Explain [2:47]
3. Fortune Teller [2:38]
4. Tattoo [3:36]
5. Young Man Blues [11:10]
6. A Quick One While He's Away [3:47]
7. Happy Jack [2:15]
8. I'm a Boy [2:53]
9. There's a Doctor [:22]
10. Go to the Mirror [3:24]
11. I'm Free [2:23]
12. Tommy's Holiday Camp [:48]
13. See Me, Feel Me [5:06]
14. Summertime Blues [3:20]
15. Shakin' All Over [7:11]
16. My Generation [15:07]
17. End Credits [1:29]
1. A Quick One While He's Away: Introduction [6:03]
2. A Quick One While He's Away: A Quick One While He's Away [11:46]
3. Tommy: Overture [5:43]
4. Tommy: It's a Boy [:32]
5. Tommy: 1921 [2:33]
6. Tommy: Amazing Journey [8:26]
7. Tommy: Eyesight to the Blind (The Hawker) [1:57]
8. Tommy: Christmas [3:14]
9. Tommy: Acid Queen [3:27]
10. Tommy: Pinball Wizard [2:46]
11. Tommy: Do You Think It's Alright? [:22]
12. Tommy: Fiddle About [1:14]
13. Tommy: Tommy, Can You Hear Me? [:56]
14. Tommy: There's a Doctor [:21]
15. Tommy: Go to the Mirror [3:24]
16. Tommy: Smash the Mirror [1:15]
17. Tommy: Miracle Cure [:14]
18. Tommy: Sally Simpson [4:01]
19. Tommy: I'm Free [2:24]
20. Tommy: Tommy's Holiday Camp [:58]
21. Tommy: We're Not Gonna Take It [8:46]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: November 18, 2008
  • MPAA Rating:
  • Studio: Image
  • Length: 138 minutes
  • Sound: DTS, Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 2
  • Language: English
  • UPC: 014381514520
  • Product ID: 2838232
  • Genre: Music

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?