Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Hank Williams: The Show He Never Gave

Format: DVD     Release Date: 08/19/2008
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Reg. Price: $6.99

Member Price: $6.29

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Reg. Price: $3.99

Member Price: $3.59

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
This 1981 performance film embodies an act of speculative imagination: What thoughts ran through the mind of legendary country and western singer Hank Williams, Sr. (1923-53), as he lay dying in the backseat of his Cadillac, en route to a concert in Ohio, on December 31, 1952? Playwright Maynard Collins imagined that he fantasized about playing one last gig as an awareness of his impending death sunk in, and that concert - the one that never happened - gets a full visualization in this film of the popular Canadian cabaret show. Using the ride in the Cadillac as a narrative framing device, director David Acomba places his emphasis squarely on the stage fantasy, where Williams - here played by country singer "Sneezy" Waters - delivers a succession of the crooner's best known and loved songs, including &"Kaw-Liga," &"Lovesick Blues" and &"Your Cheatin' Heart". Waters projects Williams's down-home charm, both backstage and in his interaction with the audience, and enables the audience to see directly into the soul of this self-destructive and emotionally beleaguered young man. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Disc #1 -- Hank Williams: The Show He Never Gave

1. Saturday Night Band [5:36]
2. Honky Tonkin' [4:25]
3. Thirty Four Grand [8:24]
4. One on Me [6:11]
5. You Win Again [8:50]
6. Hey Good Lookin' [4:56]
7. Half As Much [8:48]
8. New Year's Blues [2:59]
9. Mind Your Own Business [6:00]
10. Can't Disappoint [6:45]
11. Too Much Milk [4:06]
12. Bayou Beat [7:44]
13. Old Time Religion [3:36]
14. Almost There [4:14]
15. Death Comes Cheap [2:59]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: August 19, 2008
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Studio: Echo Bridge Home Entertainment
  • Length: 87 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • UPC: 096009700294
  • Product ID: 2837739
  • Genre: Music, Theater

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?