Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X
Time There Was... A Profile of Benjamin Britten

Time There Was... A Profile of Benjamin Britten

Format: DVD     Release Date: 11/21/2006
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Reg. Price: $29.99
On Sale: $25.98

Member Price: $23.38

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
This musical documentary profiles British composer/conductor Benjamin Britten. Directed by filmmaker Tony Palmer, who also documented opera legend Maria Callas, it mixes biography with excerpts from such famed operas as +Death in Venice and +Peter Grimes. A special segment shows archival footage of the maestro working his magic behind the scenes in rehearsal. Interviews include a moment with Leonard Bernstein, who touches on the genius and the pain of "a man at odds with the world." With a running time of 102 minutes, this award-winning video hits all the right notes for the classical aficionado. ~ C. Dwayne Smith, Rovi

Disc #1 -- Time There Was... A Profile of Benjamin Britten

1. Leonard Bernstein & Cousin Elsie [3:12]
2. Britten As Conductor & Pianist [4:48]
3. The Sea & Lowestoft [6:06]
4. Early Compositions [5:17]
5. Music for Films [4:07]
6. Journey to America [9:35]
7. 'Peter Grimes' [12:18]
8. Aldeburgh [5:09]
9. 'Phaedra' and 'Rape of Lucretia' [5:52]
10. The Aldeburgh Festival - Beginnings [5:14]
11. Writing to Commission [1:46]
12. The Sea [4:40]
13. Travel [3:53]
14. The Maltings Concert Hall [3:05]
15. The Public Figure [3:29]
16. 'Death in Venice' [4:57]
17. An Excellent Patient [2:41]
18. Last Visit to Venice [6:28]
19. "What Will It Be Like - Death?" [3:19]
20. "I Was Lost on an Infinite Sea...." [3:50]
21. End Credits [:38]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: November 21, 2006
  • MPAA Rating:
  • Region: All
  • Studio: Kultur Video
  • Length: 103 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Formats: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9), Black & White
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • UPC: 032031115897
  • Product ID: 2656508
  • Genre: Music, Theater

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?