Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X


Format: DVD     Release Date: 10/24/2006
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Reg. Price: $19.99
On Sale: $16.98

Member Price: $15.28

add to wishlist

Buy Used

Reg. Price: $10.99

Sale Price: $5.00

Member Price: $4.50

add to wishlist

     Customers Also Bought

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
Alice Duer Miller's novel Gowns by Roberta was adapted into the 1933 Broadway musical Roberta, with music by Jerome Kern and Otto Harbach. The 1935 filmization of Roberta was slightly adapted to accommodate the dancing talents of Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers, though their roles are secondary to the characters portrayed by Irene Dunne and Randolph Scott. Dunne plays a deposed White Russian princess who has become a famed Parisian couturier. Dunne is the partner of "Roberta" (Helen Westley), who passes away, leaving her half of the business to American football player Randolph Scott--who of course knows next to nothing about the gown business, and couldn't care less anyway. Astaire co-stars as bandleader Huck Haines, the character played by Bob Hope in the original Broadway production of Roberta. Rogers rounds out the cast as a phony Polish countess who happens to be Astaire's former girlfriend. Many of the songs written for Roberta were retained for the film version, including "&Lovely to Look At," "&Smoke Gets in Your Eyes" and "&I Won't Dance;" other tunes are heard as background music. Keep an eye out for a blond Lucille Ball as a fashion model. Withdrawn from circulation for many years due to the 1952 @MGM remake (titled Lovely to Look At), Roberta began making the public-domain rounds in the early 1980s. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Disc #1 -- Roberta

1. Credits [1:38]
2. Voyda's Indians [2:20]
3. Organ Recital [3:17]
4. Stuck at Roberta's Salon [3:39]
5. John's Aunt Minnie [4:34]
6. The Countess is Charmed [4:11]
7. Let's Begin [3:11]
8. Call Me Tanka [3:18]
9. The Touch of Your Hand [3:23]
10. I'll Be Hard to Handle: Song [1:58]
11. I'll Be Hard to Handle: Dance [4:06]
12. Everything is Fixed! [3:01]
13. French Lesson [2:49]
14. Yesterdays [2:44]
15. Partners [6:22]
16. Fashion Among Friends [2:49]
17. Telling the World [2:34]
18. Tearful Old Flame [3:50]
19. Whatever Sophie Wants [4:49]
20. Through With Each Other [4:06]
21. I Won't Dance: Song [3:09]
22. I Won't Dance: Dance [2:48]
23. Russian Royalty [2:09]
24. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes [5:40]
25. Running or Ruining? [5:39]
26. Lovely to Look at: Fashion Show [3:57]
27. Lovely to Look at: Song [3:16]
28. More Loveliness With Lucy [2:49]
29. Lovely/Smoke Dance [3:16]
30. Pair of Paris Pairs [2:14]
31. I Won't Dance: Finale [:50]
32. Cast List [1:01]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: October 24, 2006
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Warner Home Video
  • Length: 106 minutes
  • Sound: dd1
  • Format: Black & White
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, French, Spanish
  • UPC: 012569679917
  • Product ID: 2642223
  • Genre: Comedy, Musical

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?