Logo: FYE - For Your Entertainment
FREE SHIPPING on CD & Movie Orders Over $40 See Details
Navigation Toggle

Sell your copy

close   X

Broadway Melody [Special Edition]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 02/01/2005
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Reg. Price: $19.99
On Sale: $16.98

Member Price: $15.28

add to wishlist

Buy Used < Last One

Reg. Price: $5.99

Member Price: $5.39

add to wishlist

When purchasing used items, DVDs & Blu-ray include disc, cover art, and case. Bonus downloadable or promotional content may have already been redeemed. Promotional items (3-D glasses, figurines, t-shirts, posters, jewelry, books or other non-media items) may not be included. Cleaning and repair was done as required.
This landmark @MGM backstage musical of the early sound era about broken dreams on the Great White Way features a bevy of standards by the songwriting team of Arthur Freed and Nacio Herb Brown. Freed later became unit producer of the legendary Freed Unit at @MGM, which is the reason many of the tunes from &Broadway Melody --"&"You Were Meant For Me"", &"Broadway Melody", "&"The Wedding of the Painted Doll""-- later appeared in Freed's seminal @MGM musical Singin' in the Rain. The nominal story concerns midwestern sister act The Mahoney Sisters --Queenie (Anita Page) and Hank (Bessie Love)-- who come to New York to try to make it big on Broadway. Hank's song-and-dance man boyfriend Eddie (Charles King) has promised the gals a part in the new Broadway revue in which he is soon to appear. When Hank and Queenie come to see him, Hank is pleasantly surprised at the way Queenie has filled out. Soon enough, Eddie is making advances to Queenie. Queenie is attracted to Eddie too, but she doesn't want to steal her sister's boyfriend. So she Queenie takes up with a lecherous playboy, leaving it to Hank to put all the confused love relationships in perspective. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Credits [1:00]
2. The Broadway Melody (I) [4:14]
3. Queenie and Hank [3:38]
4. Uncle Jed's Offer [4:12]
5. The Broadway Melody (II) [4:53]
6. Audition Sabotage [5:19]
7. A Sister Team [5:16]
8. Backstage Nerves [6:00]
9. The Broadway Melody (III) [4:32]
10. Love Boat [3:40]
11. Raves for Queenie [3:04]
12. It's Not a Date [3:52]
13. Giving Girls a Ring [4:37]
14. You Were Meant for Me [3:51]
15. No Mood to Party [4:31]
16. Truthful Parson Brown [2:58]
17. Birthday Bracelet [3:18]
18. What Queenie Wants [3:44]
19. The Wedding of the Painted Doll [3:42]
20. The Boy Friend [1:54]
21. Lovers' Quarrel [4:12]
22. Fighting for Queenie [4:34]
23. Offer Taken [1:37]
24. Queenie's Choice [4:22]
25. Born Troupers [3:01]
26. Harmony Babies Hit the Road [3:03]
27. Cream in the Can [:59]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: February 01, 2005
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Warner Home Video
  • Length: 100 minutes
  • Sound: dd1
  • Format: Black & White
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, French, Spanish
  • UPC: 012569528628
  • Product ID: 2491870
  • Genre: Musical, Romance

For More Entertainment

Join our mailing list:

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?